Chevron Left
Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
547개의 평가
137개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course offers an introduction to the U.S. Constitution and landmark Supreme Court cases interpreting it. It explores the Constitution’s origins, its amendment over the years, and methods of constitutional interpretation. Topics include the nature and structure of the federal government, the powers of the federal government, and individual rights....

최상위 리뷰

SJ

Jul 22, 2017

Professor does a great job and in explaining the complexities. He does not take any partisan stand and does a great job and giving prominence to all sides of the argument. Enjoyed the course throughly

DG

Dec 11, 2016

This is a great introductory or refresher course. Everything is put forth in an easy-to-understand concept. It was beneficial to me to compare key cases and how society affected them. Thank you.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases의 132개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Chenier G R

Dec 09, 2018

Excellent course. I am very happy with this opportunity. The classes were clear and easy to understand. Congratulations to Cousera for this incredible partnership with the University of Pennsylvania for the promotion of Constitutional Law.

교육 기관: Kaushik D

May 15, 2019

The material of the course was presented in an easy and well constructed manner, letting each and every user of the platform, be rendered capable of learning the concepts to the best of their abilities. I highly recommend this course to anyone wishing to gain a Introductory Insight into the Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases in the United States.

교육 기관: Yigal L

Jul 12, 2019

Professor Washington III delivered an excellent review of key constitutional issues. His presentation of different legal point of views really helped me understand the underlying issues in many court decisions. As someone who was not born in this country, I am delighted in gaining more than just an "overview".

교육 기관: Karina L G

Apr 18, 2018

The professor is amaaaaaazing! Maybe it has something to do with being a roosevelt~I enjoy the way he arranges and presents course content. as well as the bold, matter-of-factly fashion that he makes comments on some historical episodes that are known to draw mixed feelings

교육 기관: Sanket V

Aug 17, 2018

it is one of the interesting course that i have ever came across! if any individual want to learn the basic and fundamentals of american constitution then he must join this course.

교육 기관: Patricia G

Oct 24, 2019

Chronologically organized lecture which used non legalese terms made the basics or key concepts of the US Constitution, its evolution and modern application easier to understand.

교육 기관: A-A-ron

Dec 30, 2016

In my search for a good class to help me lay a better foundation of my constitutional understanding I had originally enrolled in Yale's The Written Constitution. The professor was incredibly knowledgeable and delved deep into constitutional principles, but was incredibly difficult to follow because his course had no structure, slides or outline. I dropped that course because of the professor's long, tangent and filler-word filled lectures. However, I hadn't abandoned my search for a solid class teaching Constitutional concepts. What I found was this course provided by the University of Pennsylvania.

Professor Roosevelt provides interesting content and a higher level overview of the Constitution and important Supreme Court cases. The lectures follow a very good structure, introducing topics, key points and then reviews them at the end of each lecture. There are also videos, animations and interviews that break up the monotony of the lecture so you're not just listening to a talking head ramble for 20 minutes at a time. I've only completed the first week. However, I can say without a doubt that this was the course on the Constitution I was looking for.

교육 기관: JOSÉ L R C

Mar 31, 2019

This course helped me to understand the evolution of the constitutional law of the United States of America, where the historical moment set the tone for the decisions taken. While it is true, many obey political interests and for supposed political moments, as in the case of World War II, it is no less true that the same system has sought to re-establish the rights of those people who might have been injured those rights. I consider it very important that many people at the international level (I am from Venezuela) approach this course, study it and of course internalize this process of the laws and their amendments because simply, the State has the faculty to self-regulate, legally speaking and of course, always respecting the will of the people. I congratulate all the people who contributed to the design of this course, it is quite complete and of simple understanding. Thank you very much.

Sincerely

Lawyer specialized in Labor Procedural Law

José Luis Rodríguez Castillo

Caracas, March 31, 2019

Venezuela

Twitter: @joseluisroca72

Linkedin: jlrc.win@gmail.com

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

교육 기관: Paul D

Oct 15, 2017

I was a Phi Beta Kappa in undergraduate school and a straight-A honors student in graduate school, but I must say that this is one of the BEST courses I have ever taken. Having no background in law prior to taking this class, I was amazed at the clarity with which Professor Kermit Roosevelt III presented some very complex topics to my complete understanding. The quizzes are very instructional and, at times, thought-provoking. The professor deals with current issues as well as the historical basis for Supreme Court decisions in changing times. I would highly recommend this extraordinary class to anyone who wants an introduction to key Constitutional Concepts and landmark Supreme Court cases.

교육 기관: JoAnne E R

Dec 01, 2017

I found this course very interactive and on point with the important SC cases. The Professor draws the student in and encourages the student to research more. I would like to take more courses from this Professor and I would to continue studying Constitutional Law. Is there a certificate with this course? Please notify me should the Professor continue teaching. This Professor certainly has the attention of his student body. Although I had to take off for awhile, I recovered myself and eagerly returned to the course. This Professor is ideal. I move forward to the future with him.

교육 기관: Alison L

Apr 07, 2017

I really enjoyed this course! As I'm sure many people have, I've recently been interested in understanding more about our government in order to be an engaged and knowledgable citizen. Roosevelt explains things very clearly and shares enlightening perspectives on many controversial theories and decisions that surround the Constitution and Supreme Court decisions. It's inspired me to do further research about certain cases and issues, too. I've already had many conversations with friends about this material, and I'd definitely recommend the course!

교육 기관: Carrol L

Jun 17, 2017

This was a brilliant course and the professor was outstanding. My inclination at first was to drop the course after week 1 but I received a passing grade and decided to continue. Amendment XIV was indeed an eye opener for me. I'm sure this time around no sitting Judge will deny me the I not taken this course, I guess I would have died never knowing I had Constitutional Rights under the XIV Amendment under the Constitution for all Americans born or naturalized in the United States of America.

교육 기관: Michael C

Nov 29, 2018

Enjoyed the course. I've read a lot of US History and was familiar with many of the cases through that reading experience but this is the first time I've studied just the Supreme Court. I have a better understanding now of the Court's historic thinking and ability to change it's thinking overtime. It also helps me to disagree with the court, especially the current court, by reviewing the constitutional reasoning be hide the decisions

교육 기관: Sha L

Feb 12, 2017

Learning this course is a fantastic experience for me, a STEM background and without any formal knowledge of US constitution. The professor pick the key clauses and concepts from US constitution and present them in different perspectives. All of these are extremely refreshing and intellectually enlightening to me. I consider this course so far the best art&humanities course I've ever taken. Thank you professor and UPenn

교육 기관: Larry L E

Sep 25, 2016

Outstanding course. Once I started it, I couldn't stop. Kermit Roosevelt III is an amazing teacher and speaker. He presented all sides of many of the central issues in Constitutional law for those of us not trained in the law, and he presented the material in a way that inspires us to become more active in the political process - preferably non-partisan (but that part is just my view).

교육 기관: Sean b

Oct 25, 2017

This is a course that everyone should take, EVERYONE! It brought an easily understandable, non-partisan, no-bs approach to learning about the Constitution and the issues surrounding it. As a unofficial student of the Constitution and a proud American who has sworn to serve and protect it I feel that the points brought up in these lectures need to be seen by all.

교육 기관: Brice B

Dec 03, 2016

The best course I have ever attended on Coursera!!!!!!! A must! Maybe some improvements could be made but it is going to be very hard: very well structured, deep and yet very clear, couldn't be more relevant in these post Trump election times, opinionated and yet well-balanced, very good use of the medium. More, please, Professor Roosevelt, more!!!

교육 기관: Evgen V

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent, even if a bit brief, course discussing the fundamental concepts of the US constitutional law. The instructor's willingness to present two sides of the debate is very helpful and thought-provoking. As a non-US citizen, I would really recommend taking this course to anyone interested in the United States and its rich legal tradition.

교육 기관: Francisco A R P

Feb 02, 2017

An excellent opportunity to learn what constitutional law is about and understand the way the U. S. Supreme Court interprets the Constitution asserting the values it reflects. Professor Kermit Roosevelt conveys the message in a clear and direct way, making the classes easy to follow. A real enjoying experience for me. Thanks you all.

교육 기관: Phan N A

Feb 08, 2017

Professor Roosevelt did a stunningly fine job at explaining and linking everything together. I knew about the Constitution and the American Declaration of Independence before, but not the Articles of Confederation, and now thanks to Professor everything clicked into its place, everything made sense to me. Thanks a lot!!!

교육 기관: Deonne R M

Jul 16, 2017

Well presented with a brilliant and analytical professor. This course provided insights into why decisions are made and how we as a nation got to where we are and how We The People can effect constitutional changes. It is noteworthy, his voice and vocal modulations were pleasant assets

교육 기관: SUCHETA F

Mar 30, 2017

Good basic review of the U.S. Constitution. This is an important course for our times as civics is rarely taught, and an informed citizenry is vital to the continuation of our democracy. Many have no clear understanding of it, nor have they read it. This is a great place to start.

교육 기관: Eily K

Jul 11, 2017

Highly informative in the field of American constitution and the formation of the United States of America. I found this course to be a very good introduction to the Supreme court structure and the common law base system. Well explained by professor Roosevelt. Thank you.

교육 기관: Joan B

Nov 01, 2019

The course provides the layman with a clear understanding of the basic concepts of the US Constitution, how the Constitution has evolved over the years and a better understanding of the considerations in resolving the questions that come before the courts.