Chevron Left
Fashion as Design(으)로 돌아가기

뉴욕 현대 미술관의 Fashion as Design 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,650개의 평가

강좌 소개

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

최상위 리뷰

SA

2020년 5월 27일

I would highly recommend this course for someone passionate about the industry. It's an Insightful course too deepen inside the fashion world, through history, identity, sustainability, and much more.

MP

2020년 5월 15일

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

필터링 기준:

Fashion as Design의 623개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Monique

2020년 3월 1일

Totally amazing course. I learned so much and got new perspective on my clothing and accessories, while learning new trends in fashion. Coursera helped me stay on schedule and the videos and readings provided were interesting and informative.

교육 기관: Leslie M

2020년 6월 4일

I really enjoyed the course. It opened my eyes to so many issues facing the world - and how small moves can motivate change. It also made me look at my wardrobe differently - putting new meaning behind pieces I never really thought about.

교육 기관: Tadea S I J

2019년 1월 4일

I really loved it because you get to aknowledge a lot of things about fashion that most of us ignore and are kind of essential to designing. I really recomend this course for any fashion lover or designer interested in the fashion industry.

교육 기관: tashi p

2020년 3월 10일

It is a very well laid out course. I really enjoyed all the topics covered under this course. The topics were so relevant and especially for someone Like myself who is new to the world of fashion found “is fashion modern” very intriguing .

교육 기관: Jorge H L

2020년 7월 15일

Phenomenal! I highly recommend it. If you are just getting started in the world of fashion, this is a great first step, get some knowledge under your belt. This is a great way to learn, I hope this way of education extends even further.

교육 기관: ShaMecha S

2020년 6월 22일

This course made great usage of technology with videos, photos, and reading materials. Sometimes it felt a bit long but in the end the time was worth it. If you have even a remote love a fashion, this is a good course to work through.

교육 기관: Sandra M

2018년 8월 23일

This course was truly amazing experience, so much more than what I expected. The sea of information is gathered in such smart, consistent, organized way that it is impossible to even think anything is omitted. I applaud to its creators!

교육 기관: Victoria B C

2020년 6월 6일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I now see my clothes in a completely different way. It has been an eye opener regarding the impact that fashion has on our society and environment. I will highly recommend this course to my friends.

교육 기관: C d g

2020년 4월 19일

this class was interesting for me.

i have to say, I look fashionably different and a little more expert.

every class, every week, was better than the previous one. Interesting, interesting, interesting, and everything was so exciting.

교육 기관: Jenny P M A

2020년 1월 13일

Me encanto este curso supero mis expectativas creo que es emasiado buieno y agradezco a Coursera y a Rhe Museum of Modern Art por esta Gran oportunidad Mucghas Grcias a las Docentes.Mucgas gracias de verdad

JENNY MORENO AVELLANEDA

교육 기관: Karen T

2021년 3월 1일

Thank you for opening my eyes to the purposes behind our wardrobe choices. In the past year, my fashion choices have been, understatedly, limited. Can't wait to enjoy the statement of personal expression that fashion can offer.

교육 기관: Adri M

2020년 8월 23일

The Course is amazing! So eye-opening and complete, the course compiles from the "birth" of items until the lifecycles of some products and approaches subjects such as sustainability, identity, culture, design. I truly recommend.

교육 기관: su y

2019년 11월 9일

This course has given me the kind of depth I've been looking for the study of fashion design, clothing construction and its history. I definitely recommend especially for those interested in the research aspect of fashion design.

교육 기관: E P

2018년 7월 1일

I learned a lot from this course, and it had one of the more active discussion groups I've seen in a Coursera course. I love that it went into the details of the exhibition and into how the exhibition was conceived and curated.

교육 기관: Maheen A

2021년 9월 17일

T​his was really fun and insightful. The week on Lifecycles was something that really stood out, all the items were historically significant. I do feel more confident in talking about and understanding the art side of fashion.

교육 기관: Simona V T

2020년 5월 21일

Thank you for sharing such an amazing material! Every single topic was interesting, made me think more about garments lifecycle and ethics. Clothes are not clothes enymore, every single piece have the story behind. Thank you!

교육 기관: Jaci S

2020년 6월 2일

This class was not just informative about the history of fashion, yet insightful on many current issues of sustainability and took a deep dive into how we purchase and what we wear today. I would highly recommend this class.

교육 기관: Anson M M

2020년 10월 16일

Amazing course! I've learned a lot throughout the past few weeks! For those who wanna set foot into the fashion retail industry, this course definitely can show you some insights and how the future of fashion would be like.

교육 기관: Julia L

2020년 6월 2일

A fabulous exploration of clothing items replete with historical anecdotes that might enable you to win a gameshow..... LOL; simply a great lens through which to examine fads, fashions, and ones own wardrobe. Delightful.

교육 기관: Sabrina L B

2020년 5월 19일

It was such an incredible course. It's amazing how a simple garment has so much history behind it. Every time I wear an item I will remember where it came from, the materials used and who wore it.

Very satisfied!

Sabrina

교육 기관: Bernardo I d S M

2020년 9월 3일

An amazing course that gave me very interesting insights on major fashion topics such as sustainability and identities. An excelent choice of interviewees too. Congratulations to the whole team, great course! Thank you

교육 기관: Soraia M

2020년 6월 20일

Excellent course! I am not a keen on fashion, nor I do not follow trends. But this course help me to understand the magnific world oof fashion and how a simple cloth is an expression of resistance, rebellion, and love.

교육 기관: Patti C

2020년 5월 14일

I was totally engaged through the course and loved the mix of media that was used. It opened up my eyes and mind to so many facets of the fashion industry including history, ethics and design. Super highly recommended!

교육 기관: Claudia C

2018년 1월 15일

A really interesting and easy to follow course, perfect for professionals but also for general culture. Opened up my mind and made me think about certain things from different perspective. Really really enjoyed it!!!

교육 기관: Alice-Mae D

2020년 6월 27일

I really enjoyed the course and I would definitely recommend it! It has made me look at clothing items with more of an open mind! I've deepened my understanding of the fashion industry and the history of clothes. :)