Chevron Left
The Science of Gastronomy(으)로 돌아가기

홍콩과학기술대학의 The Science of Gastronomy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
342개의 평가
86개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course introduces a number of basic scientific principles underpinning the methodology of cooking, food preparation and the enjoyment of food. All topics covered have a strong basis in biology, chemistry, and physics application. Among others, they include the consumption of cooked food, the physiological and evolutionary implication of the senses, geographic and cultural influences on food, and the rationale behind food preparation. We will also discuss issues such as coupling of senses to improve sense stimulation; altering flavor by chemical means; and modification of the coloration to improve the appearance of dishes. Following the video demonstrations of the scientific principles of cooking, you will learn to recognize the key ingredients and their combinations for preparing good healthy food. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - appreciate the scientific basis of various recipes; - develop your own recipes by integrating some of the scientific principles into new dishes; - recognize the influence of the material world on human perception from the different senses; - appreciate the art of integrating science into cooking and dining. Important Note: This course is not designed for people with special dietary needs such as vegetarian, diabetic, and gluten-free diets. If you feel uncomfortable with any part of the assignments or activities of this course, you can substitute some of the ingredients or ask friends and family members to help with the tasting of your assignments. Alternatively, you may skip that specific assignment provided that you have fulfilled all other qualifying requirement to pass the course. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/H5vlaR0_X2I...

최상위 리뷰

AS

Jul 08, 2018

Waiting for an extension to this course but at an advanced levelThis course is really valuable. It was presented in a simple and fun way I enjoyed studying with you thank you

AJ

Feb 24, 2019

there should be a digital certificate in PDF for those who can not pay because everybody does a lot of effort and time to finish this course

필터링 기준:

The Science of Gastronomy의 84개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Natalia A

Sep 12, 2018

Great experience!!!

교육 기관: Sahil R

Oct 17, 2016

it was very helpful

교육 기관: Terry S

Sep 02, 2016

Loved the course!

교육 기관: Giulio B

May 20, 2020

very interesting

교육 기관: Pallavi D D

Jan 28, 2019

very interesting

교육 기관: Sofía L B M

Oct 31, 2016

Excelente !!!!

교육 기관: Marianna Y

Apr 26, 2018

Great course!

교육 기관: Целых И О

Apr 02, 2020

Good course!

교육 기관: Oscar M S

Nov 25, 2017

Excellent!

교육 기관: Dima

Jan 19, 2017

very cool!

교육 기관: Laura G

Sep 04, 2016

briliant!!

교육 기관: sunil k

May 17, 2017

very nice

교육 기관: Leonardo B E

Mar 22, 2017

very good

교육 기관: Eliseu F B

Aug 28, 2019

Amazing!

교육 기관: Camilla S

Oct 28, 2017

v

e

r

y

n

i

c

e

교육 기관: PALASHA S

Jun 29, 2016

Love it!

교육 기관: Lok C F

Jul 04, 2017

nice...

교육 기관: Ann T

Feb 27, 2018

E

교육 기관: Deleted A

Jul 01, 2018

A little bit long, however very insteresting. It is easier to understand with a scientific background but professors make it basic so everyone can follow the course. English is sometimes problematic for understanding (and misunderstanding) but overall everything went smoothly. I have not "cemented" all the notions in my mind yet but now when I cook / eat / drink / see / perceive, I will have this additional prism and the experience is funnier and more interesting. Thank you for this course !

교육 기관: Alexandra B

May 21, 2020

The course was amazing, the information I gathered is extremely useful. However, the main weakness of the course is English. Sometimes it was difficult to watch a lot of videos at once, even if wanted because it also took a lot of energy to understand what the professors were talking about. Seemed liked they knew a lot about the topic, but could not describe some theories because of the lack of vocabulary or weak grammar.

교육 기관: TRISHALA P

Dec 16, 2018

The course was very well organised , the professor's were amazing ,they were having deep knowledge in the subject, I really enjoyed this course,looking forward to take more courses like this.thank you!

교육 기관: Claire C

Sep 11, 2016

a little succinct and could have gone in to far more chemistry details.

the teachers are a little difficult to understand at times and a little repetitive as well but overall an enjoyable course

교육 기관: Jess S

May 19, 2020

Very interactive and informative, great way to learn! I do think it could be condensed, but overall it was an enjoyable course.

교육 기관: Mario S

Aug 30, 2017

Fascinating to learn the science behind our experience and enjoyment of food.