Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,538개의 평가
374개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 364개 리뷰 중 226~250

교육 기관: Dovi Z

Mar 02, 2017

great course. very deep and interesting critical analysis.

교육 기관: Ana F

Aug 28, 2017

The course is great, very complete and didactic. The professor is friendly, talks patiently and deeply about the subject, what makes it easy for us, foreigners, to capture and understand the message. Can't get enough. Thank you!

교육 기관: Ricardo H

Aug 15, 2017

Increible! Un curso muy bueno, completo, y el profesor es sumamente claro para explicar!

교육 기관: Michael G

Jun 17, 2017

Superb course. Loved it. Learnt so much. I was taking the "free" course on coursera and was disappointed that I could not take the exams each week. Other free courses have enabled me to do this. Otherw

교육 기관: Arjun S

Feb 16, 2018

This is an exceedingly well constructed course presented with ease and confidence. It takes a rather difficult subject and explains it with fluency and most importantly clarity. Even someone who is marginally acquainted with world history from the 18th century onward will find it illuminating and very insightful. It really encourages the student to look deeper into specific issues raised in the course of the lectures. I thoroughly enjoyed all the video lessons and the graded quizzes were just difficult enough to be interesting. I am looking forward to taking the second part of the course.

교육 기관: Yan D

Dec 15, 2016

It is a very useful and interesting course! Thank you very much

교육 기관: Hagai

Jan 04, 2017

Excellent!!

교육 기관: Frances M

May 02, 2017

The course covered a huge amount of material but was presented in a clear concise way. I liked the way it pulled together so many different ideas and referred to places all over the world, giving the big picture as well as a fair amount of illustrative detail. The presenter was clear and concise in his delivery and paced it so the student could follow quite complicated material easily. I would have like to have the results of the quizzes before deciding whether to purchase

교육 기관: 吕敏

Aug 11, 2016

I think this part is great,i have learned something very heuristic.

교육 기관: Erika K

Jul 03, 2017

Great course! I really appreciated how Dr Zelikow explained context and why major world history events happened the way they did. Lots of visual aid made this course really interesting. I would make this course a must in schools.

교육 기관: Synack12

Mar 09, 2018

test

교육 기관: Charles G

Mar 17, 2017

Simply awesome! I really appreciated the professor's approach and I enjoyed the videos, always looking for the next one to come. For people who have a personal interest in history, this course is definitely a must.

교육 기관: Andrew O

Feb 26, 2018

An excellent history course and very thoughtfully presented. It doesn't rely on memorizing a bunch of dates and events but pulls it together in a story. Rather than focus on "What," "When," or "How," it focused on "Why." Its professor is a very learned and notable figure in both American Academia and Politic having lead the 9/11 commission but refusing to sanction the doctrine of pre-emptive strike. Frankly if they'd have taken his course, they'd have known why. I highly recommend this course to anyone who loves history and wants a different perspective or anyone who wants to know more or wants to pull together the facts they've had swimming around in their head for years!

교육 기관: Sean F

Nov 08, 2017

Offers an in depth look into our modern history and at many of the factors that got us to where we are today. Very compelling and interesting.

교육 기관: Yuliya

Apr 01, 2017

Just great course! Easy to listen! Interestingly to study! Thank you!

교육 기관: Poorit L

Aug 14, 2017

the best course, deep into the detail of the history fact, and professor is very good in explaining

교육 기관: Georgi S

Jan 11, 2017

A truly excellent fascinating course!

교육 기관: Eirini L

Apr 28, 2017

It's a very open minded course for everyone who wants to learn more about the global history of this period and for everyone who wants to learn some of the skills of a histrian. It has a great pace and a very understandable professor.

교육 기관: Abiven J C

Jun 08, 2016

Les mots me manquent, alors un seul mot : BR

교육 기관: Changez J

Aug 15, 2017

This is a fantastic course. I have read many books on this period in history including Eric Hobswam, some on China, the American Civil War etc. This course very nicely summarizes the relationships of these events and also take a look at the WHY part.

I highly recommend this to student of history. I also recognize thanks to the help of the course on the IT revolution that we currently see and the disruption that is caused by it in our lives.

교육 기관: JOSEPH E

Nov 05, 2016

Really brilliant introduction to Global History!

교육 기관: Michal F

Sep 04, 2017

Very good course, presented in a very informative, attractive and interesting way.

교육 기관: Katie G

May 29, 2017

Great course, very thorough, full of intriguing information!

교육 기관: Derek A

Apr 02, 2017

"Events, dear boy": yes, yes, we know, but Professor Zelikow is determined to steer his students beyond events to a questioning of causality - to the whys as well as the mere whats. In addition, the course is very well structured, and pitched I would say absolutely perfectly for the curious generalist. Only cavil is that one or two lectures are perhaps a touch too compressed, even for such a brief course (week three, for example). Overall I would thoroughly recommend this course: I'm not sure I've ever spent €46 so well. On now to Part Two!

교육 기관: Kylee R

Oct 01, 2017

This course is fantastic! It is rigorous, yet Professor Zelikow skillfully makes the complex material very accessible. His enthusiasm is infectious. I greatly appreciate the efforts of Professor Zelikow, the University of Virginia and Coursera in making this course available. I can't wait to do Part 2!