Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,522개의 평가
372개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 362개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Dzintra M

Dec 10, 2015

Great course taught by a great professor! Very informative and objective.

교육 기관: Mark S

Oct 18, 2015

A very engaging approach to history.

교육 기관: jhony d c p

Aug 19, 2017

excelente curso para tener un conocimiento amplio sobre los hechos y procesos históricos entre 1760 y 1910. el tutor estudia casos puntuales los cuales permiten tener un acercamiento mucho mas enriquecedor a algunos países que fueron importantes para el proceso histórico e inicio de la modernidad en algunos territorios europeos y del mundo.

교육 기관: Chris G

Sep 23, 2015

Very interesting and informative.

Well presented.

A pleasure to learn.

교육 기관: Linda

Nov 07, 2015

V

교육 기관: Andrew C

Jul 29, 2016

Loved it!!

교육 기관: Jacqueline

Oct 16, 2015

Very well done.

교육 기관: Armand R

Nov 24, 2016

Prossor Zelikow does a fantastic job with world history!! He gives a wonderfully refreshing "Big picture" view during this period of time. Thankfully he constantly reminds us of the "why this happened" instead of the usually boring "and then this happened..."

Crystal clear presentation and wonderfully informative!

Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Michael M

May 28, 2017

I found this course to be extremely interesting and very well presented by Professor Zelikow. I was impressed with his deep knowledge of the subject and the way in which he could draw on wider lierary and artistic materials to further elaborate on the topics he discussed.

교육 기관: Alexandre Z

Jun 08, 2016

Very good, concise, relevant and with an excellent presentation. Gives you the big picture on history and also offers an insight in the decision making that shaped world history. Also it offers a big picture, focusing not only on Western history, but on China, Africa, India, Japan, Latin America and the Muslim world.

Excellent!

교육 기관: Mary L R

Jan 14, 2016

good refresher, events of the period pulled together well, pleasant to listen to

교육 기관: Yushan S

Sep 24, 2015

A great course in a narrative view , and mainly focus on "Why this happen"~~PS:The professor is very charming~~

교육 기관: Andrew G

Feb 14, 2016

Excellent course very well presented. Thank you.

교육 기관: Iva L

Oct 03, 2015

The Professor is very eloquent, interesting and has a remarkable virtue of keeping you in the loop of everything he's explaining, it almost seems effortless to engage in the topic of the video. I find the course extremely valuable, I'm learning A LOT and am able to connect the dots like I have never been able in my current education.

Thanks Professor!

교육 기관: Roberto M

Jun 23, 2017

After doing this course I have a better picture of how the world we live in was formed, and what are the forces driving the human race.

교육 기관: Yuliya

Apr 01, 2017

Just great course! Easy to listen! Interestingly to study! Thank you!

교육 기관: Poorit L

Aug 14, 2017

the best course, deep into the detail of the history fact, and professor is very good in explaining

교육 기관: Georgi S

Jan 11, 2017

A truly excellent fascinating course!

교육 기관: Eirini L

Apr 28, 2017

It's a very open minded course for everyone who wants to learn more about the global history of this period and for everyone who wants to learn some of the skills of a histrian. It has a great pace and a very understandable professor.

교육 기관: Abiven J C

Jun 08, 2016

Les mots me manquent, alors un seul mot : BR

교육 기관: Changez J

Aug 15, 2017

This is a fantastic course. I have read many books on this period in history including Eric Hobswam, some on China, the American Civil War etc. This course very nicely summarizes the relationships of these events and also take a look at the WHY part.

I highly recommend this to student of history. I also recognize thanks to the help of the course on the IT revolution that we currently see and the disruption that is caused by it in our lives.

교육 기관: JOSEPH E

Nov 05, 2016

Really brilliant introduction to Global History!

교육 기관: Michal F

Sep 04, 2017

Very good course, presented in a very informative, attractive and interesting way.

교육 기관: Katie G

May 29, 2017

Great course, very thorough, full of intriguing information!

교육 기관: Derek A

Apr 02, 2017

"Events, dear boy": yes, yes, we know, but Professor Zelikow is determined to steer his students beyond events to a questioning of causality - to the whys as well as the mere whats. In addition, the course is very well structured, and pitched I would say absolutely perfectly for the curious generalist. Only cavil is that one or two lectures are perhaps a touch too compressed, even for such a brief course (week three, for example). Overall I would thoroughly recommend this course: I'm not sure I've ever spent €46 so well. On now to Part Two!