Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,172개의 평가
571개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC
2018년 11월 5일

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW
2017년 4월 15일

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 562개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: myriam v g b

2020년 7월 26일

excelente curso, la manera de ver la historia desde el punto de las opciones que se tenían en el momento me gustó, porque te hace pensar que hubieras hecho tu en esos momentos con las condiciones existentes,

교육 기관: Jonas T R

2016년 10월 16일

Despite a bit confusing use of info-screen, this really opened my mind and view to the rest of the world. It´s if he made me see world history + our present world in a whole new light. Thank you so much :)

교육 기관: Lauren L

2015년 9월 17일

This is an excellent overview of the the History of the Modern World. I am learning and re-learning quite a lot and will certainly join up for Part II when it is on offer. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: manulukas

2020년 10월 6일

From my point of view, here the story focuses more on Spain and Europe and less on the rest, I have found it curious and interesting and a different point of view from another non-European perspective.

교육 기관: Michael G

2017년 6월 17일

Superb course. Loved it. Learnt so much. I was taking the "free" course on coursera and was disappointed that I could not take the exams each week. Other free courses have enabled me to do this. Otherw

교육 기관: Stephanie R

2015년 10월 24일

This was my first course, so I don't have any comparison. But I found it really well done. Clearly spoken, interesting content, well understandable. A good introduction to worlds recent history!

교육 기관: Aravind v

2020년 9월 24일

I have had always the question what and went through almost all the facts , anyhow from this course i find that question why is as much as important to what.Thank you professor and coursera

교육 기관: Leah P

2020년 11월 18일

I can't tell you how much I have enjoyed this course and how valuable I've found it. I'm doing a social sciences degree and this course has helped me contextualise the things I'm studying.

교육 기관: Shravya K

2020년 11월 8일

Professor Phillip Zelikow is so sweet and passionate and its crazy how we are still struggling with the central conflict of the Hundred Years' War, "How will we organize modern societies?"

교육 기관: Patricia C D

2018년 5월 10일

I would organize a little better the discussion forum because it's a little messy, though it is helpful sometimes knowing what others are asking and thinking even if its from one year ago.

교육 기관: Ellen W

2015년 12월 23일

The professor is very knowledgeable and engaging. It is fascinating to hear every word he says. I like the way he analyses WHY this or that happened and what we could learn from an event.

교육 기관: Dimitris S

2019년 2월 15일

An analytical and coprehensive presentation of the most important century in human history focusing on interpretations of stunning developments rather than a dry quote of dates and names

교육 기관: Sanjeev S

2020년 7월 22일

The course is structured well and the teachings of the instructor is interesting and clear. It is good for whom is more interested to know about the world history in a single course.

교육 기관: Marchelle C

2016년 4월 4일

I liked the course so much, I have already enrolled in the second half. I enjoyed picking apart history by its cause and effect scenario. Clear, easy to understand and enjoyable.

교육 기관: Frédéric D

2019년 4월 18일

A very useful (and actually very rich) overview

A true talent to make it simple (honestly emphasizing that the interpretation grid is to some extent chosen by the professor !)

Great

교육 기관: zainab a d

2015년 9월 17일

Perhaps the reason why I really like this course is that I am very excited about learning world history. But the course content and the way professor delivers lectures is amazing.

교육 기관: Hilde K

2016년 8월 17일

Thoroughly engaging and Part 2 is even better. Not full of dates etc. just full of explanations for why things happened and why they could or couldn't have happened another way.

교육 기관: Laura A U G

2020년 7월 7일

Este fue un gran curso que me ayudó a comprender desde un espectro general los hechos más relevantes de la historia moderna, y que por ende fortalecerá mi educación profesional.

교육 기관: Modestman

2017년 1월 22일

Thank you.I have already finished two parts of the course. Your teaching style is suitable for me. If you open any other classes, please inform me, I will join them immediately.

교육 기관: Diana M

2018년 2월 18일

This course shows an excellent view of the main historical facts. I recommend this program who is interested to understand the current global movement.

Thanks professor Zelikow.

교육 기관: Carlos R

2016년 1월 20일

This course gives you a very broad view of world History on a Global scale. It is very well taught. Professor Zelikow teaches history in a very engaging and understandable way.

교육 기관: Carlos J R H

2020년 10월 16일

I really think Professor Zelikow is a great speaker. He explains things in a very clear and coherent way. That is something to value in a world that half explains everything.

교육 기관: Bruno A S M

2020년 9월 7일

Digno de um sistema educacional de primeiro mundo e com o aparato necessário para a formação de historiadores mais críticos e conscientes do real valor do processo histórico.

교육 기관: Vibert A M

2015년 9월 22일

An essential study for those who want to know the why's of today's events. Bundles of happenings are presented at each course session.A mandatory course for your completion.

교육 기관: Xin W

2019년 9월 6일

Very engaging and well designed. It lets student to think in history events, inspire reflections on options facing situations, and lessons learnt when looking at the past.