Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,550개의 평가
376개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 366개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Anton P

Jul 20, 2017

The best history course on Coursera!

교육 기관: Carlos R

Jan 21, 2016

This course gives you a very broad view of world History on a Global scale. It is very well taught. Professor Zelikow teaches history in a very engaging and understandable way.

교육 기관: Jacob F

Sep 24, 2015

I love it

교육 기관: Dennis N

Sep 14, 2017

Very enjoyable course, will definitely be taking Part 2

교육 기관: Geordie w

Jun 28, 2016

A great course on predominantly the western course of history from 1760 to 1910; one that focuses on ideas and movements that shaped the world, not a course that focuses on western history for reasons of eurocentrism alone. Where the course is eurocentric, it is so by necessity, a symptom of a well-balanced, well-structured course that strives for an approach that poses questions in an earnest and truthful manner.

The professor who runs this course is a highlight. His voice and presentation style makes the course that much easier to enjoy. I hope to later follow him and pay attention to his external writings and insights, even in my time beyond studying this online course.

교육 기관: Edward S T W K

Jan 30, 2017

Very easy to follow yet imparts a deep understanding of the subject.

교육 기관: Iurii G

Aug 31, 2016

excellent

교육 기관: Michael H

Nov 17, 2015

Excellent gripping delivery of what otherwise could be simply a bunch of dull facts.

교육 기관: Admario L R

Dec 06, 2015

Great course: professor Zelikow puts into perspective facts that give us an understandable course of History and the role played by choices made by people rather than reviewing purely theoretical explanations or ideological trends to base conclusions. Really enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Jose A V B

Oct 04, 2015

Amazing content and the professor makes the lecture very friendly and interesting.

교육 기관: Carolina D C

Oct 31, 2016

Amazing!

교육 기관: Paranthaman

Nov 11, 2015

Clear explanation of global history.

교육 기관: Nicole V

Nov 24, 2017

Phenomenal.

교육 기관: Dawn J

Jul 08, 2017

Fascinating and broad, I have studied this time period on two occasions at different educational establishments as part of other courses but I still found this course engaging. It gives a broad and fairly global view of events - and shows the interconnections, which I thought was very good. I hope to be able to find time to take the second part of this course in the near future.

교육 기관: Diana M

Feb 18, 2018

This course shows an excellent view of the main historical facts. I recommend this program who is interested to understand the current global movement.

Thanks professor Zelikow.

교육 기관: Skylar F

Feb 03, 2017

Wow, what a fantastic class. I love how Philip doesn't just talk about a bunch of dates, but really brings in humor, paintings, poems or things from literature, and really does a great job of painting a global view. But it doesn't feel overwhelming considering the topic. Things are presented in an easy-to-understand way each class, and you can tell he really likes this topic, as I found myself more and more interested in all that he was presenting. That's the sign of a great teacher.

교육 기관: Bruno D S C

Nov 20, 2015

very good!!!

교육 기관: Nichole O

Mar 16, 2017

Very interactive and good for a variety of ages

교육 기관: PORTE

Sep 24, 2015

As a fan of History, I highly recommand this MOOC, it is always good for you to see history from a different prospective.

교육 기관: Jack C

Sep 13, 2017

Illuminating course to help understand how the world got to be the way it is today and frankly to help understand the whys and hows the Western world dominated so much during this period. Also, extremely eye opening on non-Western histories of Africa, India, and China. I was shocked at the calamities and instability that China went through during this period and the resulting precariousness of their survival at the turn of the last century. The course also whets the appetite for more because the professor emphasizes the "whys" and not just the "hows". I've sought out other books, Hollywood movies, and web searches based on what the professor has shared in the course. I look forward to taking part two.

교육 기관: Terry L L

Jan 21, 2017

I completed both parts of this course--a lot of work, but well worth the effort. My last formal history course was a two-semester sequence called "Modern Civilization," which I took as an undergraduate at UNC-Chapel Hill back in the late 1960s. It's amazing how much my perspective on history and studying history has changed over a half century.

It might be helpful for a student to have had some exposure to European and American history prior to taking this two-course sequence. A knowledge of world geography would also be beneficial. The quizzes in part 2 seemed to cover more material than the quizzes in part 1, which required me to change my study habits a bit. This two-part course, however, was well worth the time and money spent. In fact, I can't remember when I got so much out of such a modest purchase!

교육 기관: Wojciech W

Mar 02, 2016

Very interesting!

교육 기관: Sandra R

Dec 15, 2015

Instructor is knowledgeable and enjoyable in his lectures. I have completed the requirements for a degree in history prior to taking this course (although I never applied for it). I have learned more by taking this course than I did in the same course in college.

교육 기관: Remington C

Dec 22, 2015

Fantastic teacher and great course. Lots of information explained very well and very comprehensively.

교육 기관: Jacob A

Sep 18, 2017

Very well designed and superbly delivered.