Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Introduction to Philosophy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
3,779개의 평가
861개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Philosophy의 848개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Edith M B C

Aug 17, 2015

It absolutely help you to think about things on the best way

교육 기관: Recep E

Sep 05, 2015

A real philosophy course in the sense that it prompts you to do philosophy (along with the help of the history of philosophy) rather then just teaching you the history of philosophy.

교육 기관: Richard C

Oct 23, 2015

Very good course!

교육 기관: Alba Z

May 30, 2017

very interesting and all the professors explained the theories to a quite understandable level!

교육 기관: Xin Y

Jan 27, 2016

Very intuitive.

교육 기관: Roberto R

Aug 14, 2015

everybody must do it

교육 기관: Stanisław S

May 17, 2017

Just great. That's all from me.

교육 기관: Gaurav P

Jun 22, 2018

This is a brilliant course in terms of core and deep knowledge of philosophy.

교육 기관: Adam M

Nov 10, 2015

A smooth and engaging initiation into philosophical thinking with a practical path amid this world filled with so many semantics and distorting propaganda.

교육 기관: Andrea

Oct 23, 2015

great information on Philosophy

교육 기관: Matthew S

Aug 29, 2015

I found this course immensely mentally stimulating, and tailored well to those of us who are new to philosophy. I found the weeks that covered the philosophy of mind and the philosophy of time-travel to be particularly engaging and mind-expanding for me. I feel like this course has really opened the door to help me further explore in more depth the philosophical ideas that it provided me a guided introduction to. I would love to see other, more specialized philosophy courses offered on Coursera that cover the topics discussed in week 3, week 4, week 5, week 6 and week 7 individually in more depth in separate courses!

교육 기관: Mary L

Oct 18, 2016

I found this course very interesting, informative, and engaging. The instructors and lectures are interesting, and the topics covered are fascinating. The quizzes cover the most important concepts of the course without being unnecessarily difficult. I have recommended this course more than once already, and would do so again. If I found that another course were created to follow this one, I would definitely take it.

교육 기관: Jose E M S

Aug 14, 2015

so good

교육 기관: Norberto M F

Aug 15, 2015

Excelent group of teachers that makes things very, very interesting!

교육 기관: Deleted A

Aug 25, 2015

Good introduction to Philosophy. Course length is appropriate and assignments are at the right level of difficulty.

교육 기관: sirhajwan i

Jan 22, 2016

Best course ever

교육 기관: RISSER-MAROIX

Sep 24, 2015

Highly rated course.

For all people who think it is important to understand Life and for it to learn from nicer teachers and great philosophy trends. Thank you to Coursera and Edimburgh University.

교육 기관: Tejaswi V A

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!

교육 기관: Annesha K G

Aug 29, 2015

I learnt a lot from this course. This course is designed very easily to understand. Thank you University of Edinburgh.

교육 기관: German D S G

Jul 05, 2016

Excellent!!!

교육 기관: Esra B

Dec 29, 2016

Dave is a great narrator. He talks in an impressive way. So, everyone who watches the videos can understand it more easily. In addition to videos, there are also helpful documents. It was a very enjoyable course for me. :)

교육 기관: Gerard H

Oct 31, 2015

Excellent course. It gives in a very pleasant, well presented and clear way 7 essential topics of Philosophy which can be the base for further exploration.

교육 기관: Tay J

Dec 07, 2016

It is a short course that covers fewer topics than what you would expect in a normal offline freshman philosophy course. However, the content is very interesting and well-organized.

교육 기관: Igor P P

Oct 30, 2015

Very good! Great work!

교육 기관: Tianyuan C

Feb 19, 2016

Very useful and helpful for a beginner. Learned a lot.