Chevron Left
Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
1,274개의 평가
401개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

최상위 리뷰

MC
2018년 3월 14일

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

CH
2021년 1월 6일

I loved taking this course. I learned a lot (The first course I did was DINO 101 and I wanted to dig deeper). The teachers are really passionate and engaging. Cannot wait to do the others courses!

필터링 기준:

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds의 398개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Joel A C

2016년 2월 26일

This is truly a very interesting and informative course on the origin of birds! My only preference would be that the rich lecture notes would be more thoroughly covered in the video lectures... even though that would make those videos longer (oh, what a "shame" that would be -- yeah, right!!). I was impressed that the video lectures reflected some of the latest findings in fossil & genetic findings. Last but by no means least, the professional yet personal style of the video lectures was not only helpful in my learning but made it that much more enjoyable! Well done!!!

교육 기관: Brian P

2020년 4월 10일

Fantastic. Both the primary and secondary professors were excellent, had superior presentation (speaking, gesturing, personality) skills and of course, were extremely well informed. The accompanying illustrations and samples of wings and bones also helped tremendously. Technically, the people who designed the online course know what they are doing, are experts. The ease to which we can take notes, go back easily and re-listen to something said, to leave and then later, pick up the lecture anywhere we want, is first rate. Cannot say enough good things. Superb.

교육 기관: Yang Y

2018년 5월 5일

A very comprehensive introduction to theropod dinosaurs. It's rare to see good courses on this topic so gave it a 5 star. I have always been intrigued by dinosaurs and finally get a chance to learn more deeply about it. The instructor was passionate and explanation was clear and helpful. I just found that, without these lively explanation, some part of the materials with mere long texts explaining the animals' characteristics get too abstract for me. It sort of gave me headache remembering all the strange name for different groups. But, it was also the fun part:)

교육 기관: Daniel A V

2017년 4월 10일

The course was simply amazing. I am a Brazilian student of veterinary medicine with an special interst in birds. I love to watch and learn about them, and, if possible, I will work with the medicine and rehab of that incredible group of living dinosaurs. The course was extremely didactic and clear on all past information, making my interest only increase. Unfortunately I can not afford to buy the certificate, which makes me sad in a way. However, I am very grateful to the entire mini-course team and I congratulate you on the incredible work you have done.

교육 기관: Richard E

2021년 12월 14일

I gave this course a 5-star review because I believe that it fulfilled the intent (guessing!) of (a) being informative in at a high-level of the subject and (b) left enough bread crumbs for science students to take a deeper dive. My disappointments (not complaints) is that like meany Coursera science courses, (a) it is not sufficiently challenging and (b) there are no lab opportunities. That said, I highly recommend this course to anyone who is curious about the evolution of non-avian theropods to the various branches of avian dinosaurs, aka birds.

교육 기관: Robert S

2017년 7월 10일

After completing Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology, I wanted more!!! Palaeontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds was such an interesting course. I started taking Coursera sponsored courses starting in 2013. The two Palaeontology courses I have recently taken are two of the best. The presentations are excellent. Please extend my sincere appreciation to the staff of the University of Albert's Palaeontology team for their hard work and dedication - just an excellent course. Your hard work is very much appreciated. Thank you.

교육 기관: Isabel B

2016년 8월 29일

I had such a great time taking this course.

Is the second I take from the University of Alberta, I'm sure going to take them all.

The classes are comprehensible, with well made videos, and written material that's great to study later on, or before you watch them.

This written material frees a lot of time on the class, as I usually take notes when watching online courses, this let's me concentrate on watching the material without having to pause over, and over to write down what seems important.

Thank you!

교육 기관: Nathan L

2019년 7월 21일

This course presents fascinating current evidence for the evolutionary path that leads from non-avian theropods to modern birds in a way that's both fun and accessible. I learned a great deal from this course and feel that I could now explain the basics of this transition to others. I found the interactive phylogenetic tree particularly useful for working out the relationships between the many theropod groups. Highly recommended if you love dinosaurs - the extinct or the extant variety.

교육 기관: Laura F

2021년 4월 12일

I had attended to the Dino101 classes to get a better understanding of the subjects of the course, but actually it turned out that the teacher has a so good didatics that I understood everything, and now I even have a passion for this subject. As a person who started this course knowing nothing about dinossaurs, I only can say: do it! It's great! Thank you a lot for spreading this knowledge for people around the world... University of Alberta seems like the best place to visit.

교육 기관: Vladislav Z

2020년 12월 16일

This was an informative and well presented course that covered the basics of Theropod Dinosaurs and the evolutionary processes which led to the origins of birds. The lecture videos were engaging and easy to follow and the supplementary readings are structured well and a perfect accompaniment. Additionally, I would recommend taking this alongside other University of Alberta introductory paleontology courses for a more complete experience.

교육 기관: Jeff Y

2016년 8월 5일

Even if you've never had a lifelong fascination with natural history like I did, this course should be fascinating and educational enough to draw you in. Scott Persons is an amazing teacher: clear, concise, knowledgeable and passionate enough that you will never feel lost, learn a great deal and yet never feel bored. Philip Currie is also very informative. Highly recommended for anyone with even a modicum of interest in dinosaurs.

교육 기관: Victor H G S

2020년 8월 8일

Definitely one of the best courses I have taken, I loved it from the beginning, what brilliant explanations from Dr. Currie, and not to say from Gavin, very professional, very good in the way he explains each of the steps evolutionary of birds. A thousand congratulations to all the team that made this possible, because I am very happy with what I learned, this branch of science has always been my fascination, thank you very much.

교육 기관: Cathy B

2021년 3월 30일

I enjoyed the depth of the material, vocabulary and definitions. The presenter was very informative and the realm of the material was vast but presented clearly with suitable diagrams and models. The course notes were detailed and supported by photos. I enjoyed both the Dinosaurs 101 and the Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds courses offered by the U of A. Very professional and knowledgeable presenters.

교육 기관: Carol B

2017년 6월 28일

This course provided excellent information about the evolution of Theropods. Careful examination of adaptations, changes in environment over time, and predator-prey aspects of these dinosaurs all created a good foundation of knowledge to see how modern birds are the only surviving dinosaurs. This course included great diagrams, details, fossil evidence, and interactive features that made it enjoyable and engaging.

교육 기관: FRANCESC P P

2021년 2월 6일

I will definitely follow the recommendation of Dr. Phil Currie and Angelica Torices and will take the DINO 101 course. As an amateur palentologist I have learned a lot and I will be able to contribute more to my team. The reading material and videos and references are excellent. The course explains everything clearly. Professor W. Scott Persons is a great presenter and didact.

Thank you very much!!

교육 기관: Catherine T

2017년 5월 8일

This course helped to expand my knowledge of theropod dinosaur biology, their relationship with each other, and evolutionary progresses that lead them to the avian forms they bear today. This course provided a complex set, and range, of information that was carefully and efficiently tied together to help the overall understanding of the concepts and themes. I really enjoyed this course!

교육 기관: Emil

2020년 4월 9일

This is a nice and a informative course. The main reason for which I chose it was because there was an option to read subtitles in a European language. I have to say, also that it is nice to hear another point of view (more scientific) from an university on the topic of dinosaurs, except from documentaries. This is the reason for which I have enrolled for other courses on this topic.

교육 기관: Jonathan N

2021년 5월 25일

Extremely detailed for such a short course, stuffed full of fascinating information that offers an exciting new perspective on dinosaurs, modern birds, evolution (especially convergent evolution) and the recent history of life as a whole. Presenters are passionate and deeply knowledgeable, and the use of graphics and web-based tools was excellent. Very highly recommended.

교육 기관: Arturo M

2017년 6월 9일

An extraordinary journey through from last theropods to modern birds. I congrat Scott Pearsons and Dr. Phillip Currie for their amazing course, funny and very interesting exposures complemented with very well documented resources to go back and to read once again the lessons of this course. Thanks to all University of Alberta's team that made this course possible.

교육 기관: Sayan T

2018년 8월 30일

Really a great course , not only for paleontology enthusiasts but also for general zoology and biology enthusiasts. the assignments were way too easy in most cases. I hoped to get questions that made us more indulged with the excellent detailed content provided by the University. Had a real great time learning in such detail with such simple yet elaborate way.

교육 기관: Marcos G M

2019년 5월 22일

Está genial este curso, sí que es verdad que algunas palabras son muy técnicas y yo algunas no las supe, pero en general se entiende y la traducción está perfecto. Me encanta este curso, está muy bien elaborado y para todo aquél "friki" de los dinosaurios, este curso es idóneo para aprender a conocerlos y estudiarlos. Muchas gracias. Un saludo.

교육 기관: Ayla M

2020년 8월 9일

Wonderful learning experience, really helped me learn some new ideas about theropods and their relations to birds that I had otherwise been unable to find. Not only was it demonstrated in a way that's easy to understand but the course was also enjoyable to work through and often resulted in me re-watching videos for the pure enjoyment of them.

교육 기관: Paul A K

2020년 7월 28일

Fascinating material. If you are an older person like me you may have not kept up with the developments in dinosaur science over the past 30 years. Our knowledge has exploded over this period with more and more impressive and nearly complete fossils being discovered. This course helped me catch up and stimulated more reading and study.

교육 기관: Jingtian Z

2020년 12월 26일

Well, I have been in three courses that the University of Alberta provided, two about paleontology, I am familiar with some material the University of Alberta provides, like the course notes, interactive learning objects, and the phylogenetic tree we use. This course give me more understanding about how dinosaurs step by step, become birds.

교육 기관: Sourav C

2017년 6월 13일

It was a real pleasure to learn so much about this course. I thoroughly enjoyed and learned huge amount of new things which would very important for me in future. Some questions were confusing and did not had straight forward answers which I think could have been better, otherwise in context of overall learning , I am extremely satisfied.