Chevron Left
Introduction to Typography(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 예술대학의 Introduction to Typography 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,760개의 평가
1,012개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

최상위 리뷰

AS
2021년 4월 12일

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
2020년 8월 3일

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Typography의 995개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Nina B

2016년 5월 24일

This course also fed my artistic fantasy and allowed me to lose myself in knowledge. I'm still going over what I learned from this course in my head. I even create aside from this course. I don't want to stop and Professor Anther

교육 기관: Sara L

2020년 7월 5일

I really enjoyed this course. I have learned a lot about Type and the history behind it. I wish the instructor could review our assignments but I understand that there is way too many students and it would be quite impossible.

교육 기관: Sheena C

2021년 8월 2일

Was very a helpful class. Wish the last assignment could have been about a subject we feel passionate about and not the same text we have been researching over the last 4 weeks but it did push my understanding of the typeface.

교육 기관: Muhammad W A

2020년 9월 12일

Truly very nice and concise course. The instructor Anther Kiley personality and way of instructions are fascinating . I'm feeling proud to be a part of this course and specialization. Love CalArts and Coursera.org Thanks all

교육 기관: Gerardo A V

2020년 10월 6일

Even though the course is only 4 weeks long, it packs in everything you need to know to start understanding and playing with typography. I enjoyed the assignments, though I wish i could spend much more time playing around.

교육 기관: Kristen F

2017년 7월 8일

This class ended up being way more interesting than I originally expected it to be, and the last project was a great way to tie in all of the things we have learned up to that point. I definitely feel like I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Carla T G

2021년 8월 23일

This was an incredible course. I have obtained abilities that I want to exploit to the fullest. It would be great if many more entered the understanding of typefaces, as they have proven to be essential in graphic design.

교육 기관: Katarzyna C

2020년 8월 31일

Absolutely great! It has some knowledge that should be thought to all students, of all specializations allowing them to write in a way that is pleasing to the eye and easy to follow (based on rules of text organization).

교육 기관: Katty A

2016년 4월 17일

A very good introduction to typography. Makes you face some aspects of text editing that were obscure before. Assignments are not overwhelmingly hard but tricky in details and interesting for investigation and execution.

교육 기관: Shadows

2020년 12월 7일

It is exiting course, contain lots of knowledge about typography, good for beginner and intermediate. I enjoyed it. I hope in future there will be a course for advance, or one that can teach us how to create typefaces.

교육 기관: Emanuel A

2020년 6월 28일

I had a new typography perception, before I didn't know the story. And I saw the power that writing has in our history. It was a period of great learning that I will keep forever in this first typography course I took.

교육 기관: Alexandra K

2016년 5월 30일

For me as a complete beginner in typography that was a really informative course. It is a beginner's level, lets you understand if you want to study typography further or that would be enough for your purposes. Thanks!

교육 기관: Maged E S

2018년 4월 18일

please update the videos as soon as possible because found in this course and other courses that the videos were recorded in 2013-2014 and the quality some times is horrible and maybe to improve sound quality as well.

교육 기관: Maureen O

2019년 10월 9일

GREAT TEACHERS! GREAT COURSE OUTLINE! GREAT ASSIGNMENTS AND QUIZZES..WORKED MY ASS OUT. I'M GLAD I TOOK THIS COURSE..IT HAS AIDED ME IN LEARNING ABOUT TYPOGRAPHY AND ITS USAGE AND IMPACT IN DESIGNING TODAY.

교육 기관: Rebecca C

2020년 4월 7일

Introduction to Typography was very informative and had a lot of useful information. The videos were very detailed and easy to understand. The assignments instructions and expectations were outlined well.

교육 기관: Andrea R

2019년 8월 16일

Because letters are not just letters... You can communicate more than just words and ideas, you can communicate a time, place, feelings, etc when the correct typography... this is what this course is about.

교육 기관: Rhonda C

2019년 5월 31일

This course is a very good introduction to typography - it's history, technological advances, layout design and composition. It helps prove how important it is in choosing the right typeface for a project.

교육 기관: Rita K

2018년 1월 19일

In the Graphic Design Specialisation this course is my favourite so far. The videos are great, the assignments are interesting. After this introductory course I would love a Typography specialization too.

교육 기관: Muhammad I

2020년 6월 21일

That was so much fun playing with the typefaces and their making. I was always overwhelmed by the typography but I am more confident now that at last I can manipulate them and get benefits in my designs.

교육 기관: Anastasia W

2016년 10월 10일

I learned so much from this course. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get a quick introduction to typography. The instructor does an excellent job in both explaining and illustrating topics.

교육 기관: Diana S

2016년 8월 12일

I highly recommend this course! Before taking it, typography was some sort of mystical art, now everything is crystal clear. Concise and to the point, the course allows you to gain essential knowledge.

교육 기관: Sarah Z

2020년 8월 28일

i really enjoyed this course and i liked the part where we interact with other artists around the world. i learned a lot about typography and i think it'm ready to continue in my journey with art.

교육 기관: Lidia B

2016년 4월 8일

Plenty of information on various aspects of typography presented in detail and in a comrehensive manner, as well as engaging exercises really boost your knowledge and broaden your design horizons!

교육 기관: Hongjoo Y

2016년 8월 24일

This course was even better than the previous course of the specialization. It explains historical, technical part of the typography and assignments were very well related. Well designed course.

교육 기관: Jennifer V H

2016년 4월 29일

I learned so much in 4 weeks! Knowing the terminology is wonderful, but I'm excited to start using a grid for my layouts and be able to choose fonts based on the psychology behind their design!