Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
659개의 평가
195개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

LG

2019년 4월 25일

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

AT

2021년 1월 10일

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors의 193개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: William A

2016년 6월 23일

An enlightening course

교육 기관: ELISABETH S

2016년 5월 8일

more than great!!!

교육 기관: Leo T

2022년 1월 3일

V​ery good course

교육 기관: An H T

2021년 9월 2일

​Awesome lecture!

교육 기관: Stephen W

2017년 3월 29일

Wonderful course!

교육 기관: Wes D S

2017년 3월 29일

Loved the course!

교육 기관: Cédric H

2016년 4월 4일

Excellent course.

교육 기관: Luyao Z

2017년 1월 26일

Great class!

교육 기관: Matthew V

2020년 8월 17일

I loved it!

교육 기관: Paul C

2017년 3월 8일

Superb. En

교육 기관: Abdulaziz S B

2019년 12월 10일

Excellent

교육 기관: Kim n y

2019년 2월 28일

v

e

r

y

good

교육 기관: Jorge G

2020년 7월 1일

Superb!

교육 기관: 이근영

2019년 1월 31일

Cool

교육 기관: Rajneesh T

2020년 4월 10일

NA

교육 기관: 박기현

2019년 1월 31일

g

교육 기관: Charles E M

2018년 4월 29일

G

교육 기관: William ( A

2021년 1월 4일

Great job organizing and presenting this material. Assuming you are open to hear of possible ways to improve on an already great job, my suggestion would be to expand the Aristotle material a bit and include a discussion of his work developing syllogistic logic. In addition I believe there is an important contrast between Aristotle and Plato it would be worth illuminating-- Plato was all about deductive reasoning, and it was Aristotle, in turning Plato's worldview upside down by declaring that we can trust our senses-- i.e. it is the observable concretes that are the true source of reality and "unrecallable" knowledge. One could argue from this that the genesis of empirical research rests with Aristotle.

교육 기관: Kenneth M

2016년 4월 4일

Clearly presented.course which focuses only on the principal question and themes of each of the 4 philosophies. I found it extremely valuable as it structured in a logical way these issues and also related themt modern life. My only criticism relates to the grading method of the final assignment 0 or 1 is far too simplistic.

교육 기관: Harvey

2020년 6월 21일

I really enjoyed the content and how well it was delivered. She really knows what she is talking about! My only constructive comment would be to somehow make for real-time discussion between students ... after all, we are talking philosophy here. As we have seen with the virus the technology certainly exists.

교육 기관: Mike M

2021년 2월 1일

The philosophical concepts seemed more difficult in this course versus the Plato and predecessors course. The stoics provided some thought provoking ideas whereas Aristotle was surprisingly dry. The instructor does a great job of summarizing concepts and provides great value over simply reading the books.

교육 기관: Miguel A R

2020년 6월 6일

En lo personal ha sido de gran ayuda, me ha brindado una gran experiencia haber viajado en las mentes de estos seres que han dejado su legado a través de la historia. Me hubiese gustado que la extensión y/o contenido hubiese abarcado otras temáticas.

교육 기관: William M

2017년 10월 23일

This was a very solid introduction to the philosophy of Aristotle, Epicurus and the Stoics. It is relatively introductory-level but still I think that even someone who has studied Ancient Philosophy before can learn something from this.

교육 기관: Anette W

2016년 10월 11일

A good follow- up to the previous course. The material is well organised and gives a profound overview while still inciting further investigation, leaving enough room for expansion of the mind and new thoughts on... almost everything.

교육 기관: ZHANG Z

2020년 5월 30일

Very inspiring and interesting examples! It helped me obtain a more detailed and thorough view on Aristotle, Epicurus and the Stoics! Great learning experience!