Chevron Left
Introduction to Genetics and Evolution(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Introduction to Genetics and Evolution 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
699개의 평가
157개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

최상위 리뷰

YH

Jul 04, 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

TN

Sep 28, 2017

Very good course that prepared me for Genetics at Pima Community College in Tucson. I am able to follow the lectures and actually understand what is being presented. I am glad I took this course.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution의 153개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Abraham N

Feb 10, 2017

Great Professor, Great material, Great University, Great medium.

교육 기관: Franz M

Aug 17, 2016

Great course. I had no biology background at all. I learnt a lot. Thank you for making this course.

교육 기관: Karen G

Mar 16, 2017

love the Prof! This is a great, informative course.

교육 기관: Manjunath H B

Feb 10, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Prof Noor Mohamed is certainly an excellent teacher. I would like the Professor and the staff for the most enjoyable learning experience I have had.

교육 기관: Julie T

Sep 05, 2017

This was a great introduction to the subject. Well organized and logical.

교육 기관: Zhan W

Oct 23, 2016

Very useful resource on evolutionary biology and parts of ecology . Used this course to study for my GRE Biology exam.

교육 기관: Corinna M

Oct 08, 2016

Great introduction-- not a single lesson was lacking. Professor Noor is engaging, feels approachable (even behind a screen), and I found the class appropriately challenging. There were times I felt I completely grasped the "important" parts of lectures only to begin a quiz and realize that I didn't. The quizzes really helped me to see that I had to understand much more about how to apply the messages to other situations, or compound scenarios. Good lesson in logic. Computation also matters in this course, which can be tough for someone more used to reading pop-science analyses. I appreciated being held accountable and learned far more than I would if I'd just read a book.

교육 기관: Moses C

Dec 27, 2015

Great class...wonderful presentation.

교육 기관: Qareeb u h

May 01, 2019

The way i got enrolled in the course and lead by Dr.Mohammad Noor was a dream for me ,and i am thankful to all of you.

교육 기관: Samuel

May 09, 2019

Amazing

교육 기관: Anastasia

May 26, 2019

Such an amazing course, thank you so much!

교육 기관: Daniel Q D

Jun 10, 2019

Great course.

교육 기관: Mai S

Aug 18, 2019

Such a pleasure, and very informative. Prof. Noor also has a great sense of humor!

교육 기관: Islam A

Aug 23, 2019

Thanks a lot doctor Noor!

교육 기관: Samuel A

Aug 25, 2019

The teacher is amazing, and videos are short, easy to understand and overall fun to listen to and learn new things if you're really interested in genetics. I just finished my AP Biology class my junior year of high school and got A's both semesters and still felt there was a ton to be learned by taking this class.

교육 기관: Fernanda T

Aug 27, 2019

G

r

e

a

t

c

l

a

s

s

e

s

!

교육 기관: Zhengmao H

Jul 12, 2019

Besides just "knowledge", the course also focuses on the application of statistics and probabilities, as well as the humanilty aspect. Very well balanced! Highly recommended to people who already have some background in statistics.

교육 기관: Tanya L J

Sep 12, 2019

This course is very interesting. Professor Noor has presented the lessons in a simple manner, which enhanced me to understand the main concepts very easily. The questions in the quiz is also very good which is mostly application level questions. I really enjoyed learning.

교육 기관: valérie c

Dec 31, 2015

very interesting. I regret that we are not allowed to discuss the exam questions (of course after the dead line) for a better understanding.

교육 기관: Dorothy H

Aug 15, 2016

Be aware that the beginning overview lectures of this course are radically different than the detailed lectures that come later.

The beginning of this course should be sent to anyone that ever tells you that evolution is not a "thing": :D

After that, be prepared to do a lot of listening to Big A little a and minutia about how genetics really works.

This is a really good course.... not perfect, but really good. One star is removed because I think I would have preferred a bit more development and overview of the "bigger picture" (I fell asleep at times). I sometimes lost the concepts that I was interested in learning through the barrage of details, but for someone who is very seriously studying the subject, then it would be 5 stars.

Prof Noor is a good speaker: clear and has a nice voice and personality.

교육 기관: Andre F S

Jun 06, 2016

Professor Noor is very friendly and clear in his lectures. He also answers questions in the discussion foruns with speed and detail. I was able to learn a lot from this course and challenged myself to a heavier load of lectures than I had expected because they were not boring at all. My only caveat is that the questions in his quizzes can sometimes be unnecessarily confusing because of wording or tricks.

교육 기관: Richard K

Aug 21, 2017

Good course - the end was difficult. I would like to see the explanations for the correct test answers.

교육 기관: sudhir

Feb 24, 2016

This is a beutiful course, very well designed. Its a very tough topic but the instrucotr makes all efforts to make it easy to understand. Sometimes one has to go back and listen again but he gets the points across. I am thoroughly enjoying the course and understanding about genetics, genetic drift, selection, sweeps, and so many difficult concepts.

교육 기관: Eylül K

Jul 20, 2017

A perfect beginning for evolution, helps a lot, thank you!

교육 기관: Yash S

Oct 27, 2016

This is a great course if you want to understand how genes contribute to evolution and their roles in determining various phenomenon that occur in our bodies and in other life forms in nature, as well as the basics of evolution. Dr.Noor is an absolute delight.