Chevron Left
GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
1,170개의 평가
220개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course, the second in the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization, you will go in-depth with common data types (such as raster and vector data), structures, quality and storage during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn about data models and formats, including a full understanding of vector data and raster concepts. You will also learn about the implications of a data’s scale and how to load layers from web services. Week 2: Create a vector data model by using vector attribute tables, writing query strings, defining queries, and adding and calculating fields. You'll also learn how to create new data through the process of digitizing and you'll use the built-in Editor tools in ArcGIS. Week 3: Learn about common data storage mechanisms within GIS, including geodatabases and shapefiles. Learn how to choose between them for your projects and how to optimize them for speed and size. You'll also work with rasters for the first time, using digital elevation models and creating slope and distance analysis products. Week 4: Explore datasets and assess them for quality and uncertainty. You will also learn how to bring your maps and data to the Internet and create web maps quickly with ArcGIS Online. Take GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. You should have equivalent experience to completing the first course in this specialization, Fundamentals of GIS, before taking this course. By completing the second class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program....

최상위 리뷰

LT

Dec 26, 2018

Great course. Quite challenging, huge amount of info shared and employed in the assignments. This makes the course very thorough yet as mentioned, challenging to complete. Not for the faint at heart!

SS

May 01, 2016

Awesome..... The lectures are very helpful to the students or gis learners who wants to do some on-line, especially the final project was awesome... i really enjoyed and learned much more things...

필터링 기준:

GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality의 215개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Marcelo R H

Apr 12, 2019

El conocimiento adquirido para trabajar con raster en este curso fue realmente sustancial

교육 기관: Claudinei R d S D

May 22, 2019

The course is very difficult, but very productive. If you study, you will really learn.

교육 기관: julio c g

May 09, 2019

muito bom

교육 기관: Juan C A E

May 22, 2019

Great course! Excellent teacher!

교육 기관: Pablo G M

May 13, 2019

The next step into a deeper dive in the world of GIS, giving the first steps in order to start creating, editing and modifying data.

A well planned course with a good level of progression.

교육 기관: Osmar C T

May 14, 2019

muy interesante

교육 기관: Lydia C

May 14, 2019

The structure of this course is excellent. It is meticulously designed and put together, the videos are straight forward and concise. The professor, Nick Santos, is extremely skilled, passionate and organised. I highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Wanqing P

Jun 08, 2019

The content of this course consists of learning more advanced skills to deliver a GIS analytical project, compared to the first course, notably learning how to use Spatial Analysis tools. I highly recommend it simply because the explanations are very clear, on-point and most importantly, beginner-friendly; the videos are nicely elaborated. I plan to finish the whole Specialization before attacking Python and R!

교육 기관: Mega D

Jun 26, 2019

Excellent course for GIS newbies, very good through lectures and a lot of good examples. thank you coursera, and the lecturer from UC Davis

교육 기관: Ricardo J F

Jul 02, 2019

I like very much the format and the way all is explain. Hopefully there are more courses from Nick.

교육 기관: Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

교육 기관: Jerson

Jul 16, 2019

Ha sido el segundo curso del programa y en mi experiencia hay que dedicar un poco más de tiempo del que uno cree para afianzar mejor las lecciones enseñadas, el curso cumplió con mis expectativas, el desempeño del profesor Nick Santos ha sido muy bueno y el contenido ha sido bastante práctico.

교육 기관: Obed M

Jan 27, 2018

Good course, well structured to deliver the invaluable skills, ranging from data management to final output after processing. Good exposure to the toolbox, expecting more in the next course.

교육 기관: Makram C

Jul 24, 2019

Very Good course! It combines the theoretical and practical aspects.

교육 기관: Jose B

Jul 29, 2019

Content is a logical progression from the Fundamentals course. Nick presents it in a clear and well-paced way, and the tutorials, quizzes and peer-graded assignment all reinforce retention effectively. I feel that completing the specialization will enable me to make a much broader contribution to the GIS-related projects I manage.

교육 기관: David C

Aug 03, 2019

Assignments and quizzes tie in well with the comprehensive lectures. The instructor is very knowledgeable, and his dedication is evident in the course materials.

교육 기관: Michael M

Aug 12, 2019

Great course, building on knowledge given in the first course.

교육 기관: Jesse B

Mar 01, 2017

Introduces some good spatial analysis techniques. You learn how to integrate raster and vector data.

교육 기관: Jason M

Oct 11, 2016

More in-depth work with ArcMap and associated principles. Redundant to a degree with the intro to the specialization, but good blend of instruction and assignments.

교육 기관: Sreenivasan N

Apr 10, 2018

I found the final quiz to be slightly tricky. But could crack it with the support of the members from the discussion forum.

Thank you Coursera

교육 기관: ANU R

Jul 02, 2017

If you truly want to learn GIS. Just this is perfect platform.

교육 기관: Akhil C

Mar 05, 2018

Overall a good course with a lot of stuff to learn.

교육 기관: Sean B

Dec 19, 2017

I would have given it 5 stars, but Tutorial Assignment 3 was written as though it was pulled from another course without editing, and contained references to file paths and names that didn't match the reality of the course and required some deduction to sort out.

교육 기관: Nancy V W

Jun 25, 2017

This is a very good course and would recommend it to anyone interested in learning GIS.

교육 기관: Alex G

Jun 19, 2018

This course was more difficult than I expected, but provided good video lectures and plenty of examples to help me better understand some of the many things that can be done with GIS.