Chevron Left
Writing in the Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Writing in the Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
stars
2,051개의 평가
612개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

최상위 리뷰

AV

Sep 23, 2019

A very good and useful course focusing not only on grammar and papers but on personal statements and news articles as well. The lecturer shares lots of insight from her vast experience and examples.

SO

Jun 23, 2019

Great course. Learned so much that will help me be a better writer and editor, not only in the sciences, but in other areas. A fantastic professor, clear thinking, speaking, writing. an inspiration.

필터링 기준:

Writing in the Sciences의 613개 리뷰 중 551~575

교육 기관: kevin v o s

Jun 12, 2019

buy bueno

교육 기관: Mattia A

May 21, 2019

Loved it!

교육 기관: Jude A

May 02, 2019

Brilliant

교육 기관: marcela s n v

Apr 16, 2019

EXCELLENT

교육 기관: Ioana C

Mar 03, 2018

brilliant

교육 기관: Jimut B P

Dec 26, 2017

Excellent

교육 기관: Jorge F M B

Aug 28, 2018

Excelent

교육 기관: Abdelrahman H A H

Jun 29, 2018

very god

교육 기관: Jiayi K

Mar 25, 2019

Helpful

교육 기관: Meghna

Feb 10, 2019

awesome

교육 기관: José A M

Jan 10, 2019

awesome

교육 기관: Martha C

Mar 19, 2018

Great.

교육 기관: Dina S B

Dec 20, 2019

great

교육 기관: Aya E S

Mar 21, 2019

great

교육 기관: Ishan P D

Apr 23, 2018

Great

교육 기관: Ketan G

Dec 11, 2018

Good

교육 기관: Phua S X

Nov 03, 2018

Good

교육 기관: TarekMahmoudShohdy

Jul 27, 2019

.

교육 기관: Katherine A

Dec 26, 2017

E

교육 기관: Carlos C

Dec 18, 2018

I really liked this course. This is the first time someone taught me how to write effectively for different purposes. I mean, teaching these things is so valuable, but no professor I have had since high school has ever taken the time to teach this simple concepts with examples as well, such as cutting the clutter, using more verbs, using the active voice instead of the passive voice, etc. Although I started this course to just learn how to write effectively, I didn't like the last units because they consisted on how to write papers, how to submit them, etc., and I wasn't searching for that. But for everything else, excellent course and excellent professor. The course is designed to constantly test your skills and make sure you learns all the writing principles. Also, and especially for me that English is not my native language, I have seen that I can use this principles to write effectively in Spanish.

교육 기관: Nedyu Y

May 15, 2019

I was searching for slightly different course, more in direction 'Medical writing', and found by chance the one by Dr. Kristin Sainani. Still, I found the course very useful! I is structured very well and covers all topics needed for academic writing. It goes even beyond, covering particular types of written pieces like review papers, grants, letters of recommendation, and personal essays. I found units 1, 2, 3, discussing the key principles of effective writing at grammatical level, very useful, but my favourite was unit 8 about the communication to broader audiences (e.g. writing newsletter articles) including handling media relations. Great asset of the course are the live demos - really excellent job! Units 4, 5, 6, 7 were very informative, but less useful for my area of work.

A small recommendation would be to improve the sound of some few videos.

교육 기관: John W

Oct 29, 2017

A very nice overview of writing for the sciences -- everything from journal articles, peer reviews, letters of recommendation, to news items and press releases. Many of the main points were known to me -- remove jargon, use the active voice -- were already known to me, but it always good to be reminded. I also learned some new things -- for example, I had never heard of a "nut-graf" before!

One suggestion for improvement: the series of (three?) interviews with Kristin's colleagues were somewhat repetitive. I believe she asked the same series of questions to each of the three subjects. It would have been better, in my opinion, to focus on different topics with each one, and give each interview its own unique subject.

All in all, a very well-organized and well-taught class.

교육 기관: Rouletta B

Nov 18, 2019

Very informative, most of the information is presented in a way that is easily viewed and understood. The biggest con is that when the edits/markups are performed using pen/pencil on the slides are basically impossible to see on the Coursera format. If we could view them full screen or as actual slides it might be easier, but to try to follow someone's edits verbally is really difficult. Overall the course was fantastic!

교육 기관: tanujsapra

Jul 08, 2018

Overall I really liked this course. Even with many years of experience in writing and publishing papers, I learnt a lot. There were certain instances where I did not agree with Dr. Sainani's recommendations. But one's writing choice and style sometimes boils down to personal taste and the scientific content. I hope there is an advanced version of this course in the near future.

교육 기관: Ashley C

Dec 04, 2019

This was a really great course and was worth my time. It provided me with a number of strategies to make my science writing clear and succinct without losing important scientific concepts needed for my field. It also had me consider best practices in summarizing my findings for audiences outside of my field, outside of science, and for the public.