Chevron Left
Writing in the Sciences(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Writing in the Sciences 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
3,999개의 평가
1,374개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

최상위 리뷰

KK
2020년 9월 14일

Hello Kristin\n\nThank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

SD
2020년 2월 25일

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.\n\nI thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

필터링 기준:

Writing in the Sciences의 1,378개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Shahriar A

2019년 3월 17일

The name of this course is misleading; although the course gives you useful information about writing in sciences it has a serious focus on medical sciences. So if you are a chemist, mathematician or a physicist it might be annoying for you to be bombarded with medicine technical words and journals. Approximately more than 80 percent of the examples of writings are from medicine journals. The course has bunch of interviews with medicine scientists that makes me feel exhausted. If the professor of the course agrees that the medical sciences is not the only science she' should change the name of the course to 'Writing in the medical Science' or she should change the one-sided point of view of this course.

교육 기관: Shawn O

2019년 6월 23일

Great course. Learned so much that will help me be a better writer and editor, not only in the sciences, but in other areas. A fantastic professor, clear thinking, speaking, writing. an inspiration.

교육 기관: Akvilė V

2019년 9월 23일

A very good and useful course focusing not only on grammar and papers but on personal statements and news articles as well. The lecturer shares lots of insight from her vast experience and examples.

교육 기관: Heba G E

2017년 12월 20일

Thanks Dr. Kristin for this interesting course. It was so useful. I have learnt a lot from it. Your pretty way of teaching encouraged me to complete the course. Thanks for this exciting experience.

교육 기관: Brandon L S

2020년 6월 2일

Overall, this was a great course for any scientist looking to improve their writing and editing skills. I have a PhD in chemistry from Ga Tech and work as a freelance editor with scientists who are non-native English speakers, and I took this course because I never received any formal editing training.

This course has been great for improving my editing skills, allowing me to work more efficiently and quickly. Weeks 1-6 were filled with some of the most useful information I've ever read. I've already started incorporating the skills I've learned in this course into my editing work.

As others have stated, I do wish that there was more non-medical content. I also found the peer-review exercises to be quite useless (at least as far as the grading goes), as most people completing this course appear to be non-native English speakers. The content in Weeks 7 and 8 was not all that useful too me, and seemed to try to cover too much.

A suggestion: when discussing the major sections of a paper, Kristin split the Results and Discussion section into two sections; however, some journals combine the Results and Discussion sections, and I think some commentary on this would also be very helpful!

교육 기관: V T

2019년 1월 31일

The course is so informative that I think everyone should take a try. It provides us a fundamental elements to write in a professional way that is not only for our study but also for our profession.

교육 기관: NKOSINGIPHILE T

2019년 7월 8일

Best course that teach me how to write manuscripts, edits scientific work and also read with understanding the scientific work. Lot I have benefited from this program, when interviewing a scientist what you have to expect and the way of asking questions so that it will allow a scientist to explain clearly. Also peer reviewing assisted me a lot in reading other's work and grade it, I was also benefiting from that.This is the best course indeed!

교육 기관: Simon D

2019년 3월 8일

This is a fantastic course, the best online course I have ever done. Kristin's teaching style is clear and engaging, and there are lots of practical examples to help you apply the principles that she teaches.

If English isn't your first language and you don't have experience of writing essays / papers in English, I would recommend completing a more basic course first, in order to get the most out of this.

교육 기관: Sam P

2019년 5월 11일

Fantastic course that's hard to fault. I am not a working scientist but an inspiring writer in the medical / scientific field. This couse refreshed my knowledge and taught me a lot more. Thank you.

교육 기관: Andrea L S

2020년 5월 30일

Dr. Kristin Sainani:

I want to thank you for giving us such a wonderful course. I am not a native speaker and still learned a lot. I am no longer afraid to write but the most important thing is that you really inspired me.

I hope you upload here a statistics course taught by you.

교육 기관: Michele S

2018년 2월 18일

The content of the course is great. I received some practical advise about how to improve my writing. I appreciated also the suggestions about the writing process, e.g. starting from preparation of figure and tables. Even if sometimes the teacher recommend using structures against the common practices, e.g. using active verbs vs passive, she was always able to motivate and explain the reasons (and she convinced me!).

I appreciated the opportunity to have some of my exercise corrected by other students.

I did not like the format of the lesson: the slides are poorly designed, sometimes the teachers uses a thin hand writing which is difficult to see. I believe that the presentation can be easily improved using the unique features available in e-learning (see for example Calculus I from Ohio State University). I also suggest to keep always on the teacher's camera: it makes it easier to focus. I would also avoid the last module about social media, I found it boring and empty.

Overall my experience was definitely positive and I would highly recommend this course to other scientists.

교육 기관: Sarah O

2018년 5월 27일

Absolutely phenomenal course and worth taking if you are an undergraduate or graduate student eager to learn more about a writing a scientific paper. This course will put you way ahead of your peers and prepare you to publish in the sciences. If you're a professional science writer like myself, this course gives you an important glimpse into the process of how scientists write about their research - and of course, there are lots of great writing tips that apply to science writing for non-experts. Very informative and enjoyable. Videos are interesting but can feel slow if you are an advanced writer. Still, this is a very helpful course for those who have never published a scientific paper and are learning how to write one, or just want to learn more about how to write well about science.

교육 기관: James W

2019년 7월 8일

I got a lot out of this course, more than I thought I would to be honest. It was a relief to hear a writing professional spell out exactly why I have been writing a certain way - overly verbose and, if I'm being honest, trying to sound smarter than I am - since I was young. And to find out it was because of something as simple as meeting a minimum word count in school assignments was bordering on profound and very freeing. Great course.

교육 기관: Akshay B

2020년 5월 14일

Excellent, excellent course. Kristin Sainani is an excellent teacher. This course made me rediscover my love for writing. Very well structured.

교육 기관: Lourdes V

2019년 3월 11일

Un curso genial! Gran profesora. Recomendado para todos los "escritores" de ciencia.

교육 기관: Meera P

2019년 7월 3일

It was an excellent course. Special thanks to the instructor, Dr. Kristin Sainani, for her genuine step-wise guidance throughout the course. I really find a drastic difference in my skills after attending the course. Now I am confident enough to takeup a career in science writing. I am thankful to Coursera team also for providing financial aid to earn my certificate. I wish everyone to be benefited by this course.

교육 기관: himanshi a

2020년 5월 8일

The course is highly interactive. That is what makes it fun to learn. I learnt so many things about writing, about which i was unaware before taking the course: cutting the clutter, changing nouns to verbs, using active voice, arranging the ideas in a logical way, making the sentences interesting by using colon and a lot more. Thanks Kristin for being an excellent mentor.

교육 기관: Sushma d

2020년 2월 26일

Respected Dr.kristiani sainani madam and coursera.

I thank you for the wonderful classes and presentations, it really didn't made me feel that i was learning online course but as in class learning.

교육 기관: Tarun S

2020년 5월 12일

A great and comprehensive course! A must for a scientific writer. Go over the contents, at least twice to get all the golden nuggets!!

Dr. Kristine Sainani is a powerful, passionate speaker and TEACHER.

교육 기관: Qasim A

2020년 5월 16일

This is the best course I have ever taken. I have learned many skills like organization of the article, writing a perfect sentence and paragraph and academic language.

교육 기관: sunil p

2019년 7월 2일

If you love "writing for sciences" you definitely need to take this course. It helps a lot for your academic and research career.

교육 기관: carlos f p

2019년 1월 3일

Great material, great teachers, I feel one step closer to become a good scientific writer.

Thanks.

교육 기관: Daniel K

2018년 6월 17일

Extremely helpful for someone who is just beginning his scientific career (me). It is particularly convenient to have examples from medical articles, as this is the science field I am exploring.

교육 기관: Erkan O

2019년 10월 19일

Dr. Sainani really is a great tutor, she inspired me and gave confidence about how to approach writing in the sciences with a very fun and thorough style. Wouldn't be better !

Thank you

Erkan

교육 기관: Nicole Y

2020년 5월 13일

The course covers wide range of skills in the academic writing; especially for scientific manuscripts. The contents are clear and concise, easy to follow!