학생용
Chevron Left
Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age(으)로 돌아가기

토론토 대학교의 Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,686개의 평가
1,003개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Communication has changed! The traditional rules for speaking and presenting, meeting coordination, influencing people, negotiating and selling ideas no longer apply in a world of skype, messenger, video and teleconference. This course will act as an overview on several concepts each of which could be a course of their own and our goal is to give you tools that you can practice and perfect on your own. By the end of this course, you will be able to: • Apply communication principles and techniques for in-person and virtual teams • Use a science based approach to create impactful presentations • Refine your communication style to better persuade and influence others • Run more effective and impactful meetings • Incorporate strategies to have positive difficult conversations and make people feel valued and listened to *** This course will require you to record yourself speaking. Therefore you must have a phone/computer with a functional camera and microphone.*** WHO SHOULD TAKE THIS COURSE? Anyone looking for professional and/or leadership development. This class mainly uses examples from the professional, business environment. If you are looking to advance at your current organization or to enhancing your personal value for potential employers this course is for you. WHAT MAKES THIS COURSE EFFECTIVE? Many educational experiences describe and explain, but in this course we will apply and demonstrate. We teach practical and proven concepts, show you how to apply them and give you opportunities to practice them in a safe and supportive environment. This course is full of opportunities to put the ideas presented into practice and test their effectiveness for yourself. WHY SHOULD YOU TAKE THIS COURSE? We will challenge the preconceived ideas about what it means to be part of a virtual team, and support you to be a dynamic team contributor no matter where you work. In this course you can expect to be both energized and uncomfortable – like in most experiences that result in positive growth and change! This course is offered through the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (https://learn.utoronto.ca/)....

최상위 리뷰

GP
2020년 8월 12일

I love this course. It's broken down to simple bits which makes it easy to understand. I didn't like the polls that pop up in the videos but that's just a small thing compared to the value I received.

AT
2020년 6월 9일

Communication Strategies transformation is going to be the backbone of all organizations and the pandemic has simply accelerated this shift. This is a MUST course for everyone. 5Star's for this... :)

필터링 기준:

Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age의 998개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Md. S A

2020년 4월 11일

The course is precise and to the point. Ivan is a great instructor, whose style of teaching in this course may even positively influence your own dialogue delivery. By the end of this course, you will have the tools/weapons to master communication both virtually and in reality.

교육 기관: Abiral R B C

2020년 7월 10일

Fantastic & terrific course. I very much enjoyed this course.

I highly recommend this course. The time spent in this course will be worth your investment.

Happy learning!

Thank you and respect to instructor Ivan for creating such a wonderful course.

교육 기관: Gina S Y P

2020년 8월 13일

I love this course. It's broken down to simple bits which makes it easy to understand. I didn't like the polls that pop up in the videos but that's just a small thing compared to the value I received.

교육 기관: Yamini R

2020년 5월 11일

The course was really helpful to strengthen communications skills and I got a chance to learn many new aspects. Thanks a lot for making this course available. I really enjoyed learning something new.

교육 기관: Md A H

2020년 4월 15일

The Journey was amazing i was never thought about that things that i have learned would beneficial. i truly must say if anyone wants to learn something must start with this.

교육 기관: Lok M T

2020년 4월 20일

This is the best presentation course I took, and it provides a comprehensive set of useful tips how to doing Ace in presentation at a business setting. Love it!

교육 기관: Suseela D

2020년 5월 12일

An interesting and fun ride to the road of effective communication...…..all cheers !

교육 기관: Hassan S

2020년 5월 6일

It was a great course and I enjoyed it. Here are a two suggestions for improvement. First, the final assignment should be designed as a webinar or online meeting because most virtual communications are in this format. Most people don't stand and present with 'belly button rule' when they are communicating online. They are on their desk and sharing screens. Second, there should be less video footage of the speaker and more practice assignments for each module instead of simple MCQ quizzes.

교육 기관: Mustafa M

2020년 6월 2일

too long and the peer is very hard , i don't know why would i have to make such peer in order to get my certificate , however i finished the course , i will not mke the peer . Certificate can remain .. :)

교육 기관: Wade M

2020년 6월 8일

Felt like we were largely just learning strategies to manipulate people into doing what we want.

교육 기관: Roshni S I

2020년 8월 26일

If you're interesting in learning to communicate well virtually and in person, this course is a must-do. Ivan, who teaches the course, makes sure that the lessons are never dull. There are live examples. There are visual cues and little quizzes (easy to do) to help recall. The lessons teach us stuff that one can start using right away - they're critical to being a successful communicator. They cover different aspects (meetings, presentations, understanding motivations, communication styles and many more topics) and interesting, highly effective strategies for all of these.

I love how Ivan would constantly address issues both in the real world and the virtual world and teach strategies that work for each of these settings. The assignments are well-designed, especially the final assignment which really challenged me and made me look back at and apply everything I'd learnt over the past few weeks. Thank you, Ivan, for a phenomenal learning experience!

교육 기관: Maria K

2019년 8월 1일

This was an a very useful introductory lesson for learners working in business or educational field about developing core communicational skills in any professional environment.New basic strategies for communication were taught including necessary techniques for attracting audience's attention and curiosity as well as effective methods for organising groupwork and enhancing team members' interaction. The course was delivered in a dynamic and challenging way by an experienced and highly skilfull professor.The communication with professor for solving issues during the course was prompt and helpful while the professor was very suppotive.I would strongly recommend this lesson to anyone desiring to acquire fundamental communication skills in person and virtually in any scientific field!

교육 기관: Dumebi A

2020년 8월 16일

This is one of the best courses I have had on Coursera. I learnt a lot of communication and presentation skills. If you take this course, you would learn how to deliver mind blowing presentations, how to have effective meetings without time wasting, the best ways to have difficult conversations with different categories of colleagues and a whole lot of other communication strategies. Trust me, it works because I have tried it. The additional materials were also very enlightening.

The course requires learners to upload a youtube video of self. You can check out mine on my youtube channel. The video is titled 'Stop procrastinating, just do it now!'

교육 기관: Jayzel F R G

2020년 9월 9일

This online course has been helpful to me because I’m fresh graduate and licensed teacher. I’ve been thankful for this, it widen my knowledge. I hope University of Toronto will grant my hope to be one of them because, i’ve been dreaming of working abroad. Anyway, thank you so much especially Mr. Ivan who discussed, explained the topics, i’ve learned so much sir. I hope we get to meet soon to say Thank you to you personally. This online course, this is my new another success in life Thank you for granting it, I hope I can Go there at Canada, soon. Continue to help, expand knowledge University of Toronto. Thank you so much & God bless.

교육 기관: Christopher P O

2020년 7월 20일

This was my second Coursera course and was signficantly more enjoyable than the first. The initial course I took contained good information but this course lecturer practices what he preaches. These presentations/lectures were engaging and full of valuable insights on how to make better virtual presentations that are memorable and how to present them so your listeners will remember the information (at least your main point!). I highly recommend this course for anyone that wants to gain a better understanding of the psychology behind better presentations and tips to improve your presenting skills.

교육 기관: Varsha V

2020년 12월 30일

It was an amazing experience. I am proud of my decision to join this course. This course enabled me to improve my communication skills both in virtual and real world.

Also this course helped me learn many new skills, about making great presentations, how to talk in an effective way, how to attract the audience attention and to present my topic in the best way possible ever!

I am grateful to coursera for including this course in the list and to Ivan Sir for being such an amazing teacher, instructor and leading us through the course with enthusiasm and making awesome contents. Thank you Sir.

교육 기관: Susanne M

2020년 11월 3일

This is a very hands on course, immediately applicable in daily life. Whether you are a high level manager or a student, communication travels far and can make or break (work) relationships. it gives you tools, suggestions and opportunities to review what works when presenting, engaging or convincing teams.

Note it doesn't have sheets and is mostly explained which is done in a highly engaging way. Just watching Ruiz explain and take on different hats is already a benefit for yourself.

Recommended for anyone who wants to leave an impression, do better at negotiation or close a deal.

교육 기관: Tetiana M

2020년 6월 8일

The structure of the course helps very well to understand and practice the tools for efficient communication. The examples are mainly from USA business/ public spheres — for me an additional bonus of immersing into a new environment. A final task enforced me to leave a comfort zone, however, the feelings of self-growth and good-job-made were worth it.

Ivan is a very charismatic speaker — it was exciting to listen to all the lectures. I don’t agree with some of his statements, but I think it’s okay and encourages thinking. Thank you for this course!

교육 기관: Darshan M D

2020년 12월 30일

Perfect length, engaging videos and knowledge that can help us wit our daily life as well as work/business. Prof. Ivan and University of Toronto have truly created a course that can solve your problems when trying to communicate with your colleagues, relatives, friends or family on difficult issues or awkward situations. It helps to give you confidence as a public speaker or for doing presentations too! Looking for a solution to get your raise or crack a business deal? This is the right course for you! Highly recommended for all!

교육 기관: Alexandra S

2020년 7월 13일

It's a well-informative course for starters! I can clearly understand from the instructor, and it has taught me so many things about communication that can be applied to the real world. However, I seem to notice a lot of typos here and there which can be improved for a better overview. Additionally, I was kind of confused by the Peer-Review Assignment since many weren't following the instructions which made me have to report them multiple times. Overall, it's a good course but there's always room for improvement.

교육 기관: Warisara M

2020년 6월 1일

This course is highly recommended. The content is very helpful which I can apply in my real life. The instructor taught professionally and could drag my attention with his speaking. Moreover, there is a Test per Week and a final assignment that I need to record my VDO and did slide for my virtual presentation. I'd love it so much because It's fun and I also could try applying all of the strategies with it then we could share and review with many learners from around the world.

교육 기관: Anne B

2020년 10월 6일

This was a great class. So many great tips and learnings. I particularly liked the tips on creating inclusive and compelling virtual meetings with remote teams. I loved the bowtie methodology for communication along with the myth-busting around beliefs about in-person and virtual meetings. I loved the part about catering your communication to what the person/people you are communicating to need versus what you personally need. I loved the pop quizzes throughout the course.

교육 기관: Joessy T

2020년 5월 1일

This was the perfect course to attend during this challenging time. I felt it spot on with my everyday life and communication. The instructor Ivan is a natural and excellent presenter. I thoroughly enjoyed each topic and the suggested tools to tackle them. The resources and links offered are also incredibly helpful for future reference. I would talk about the course with friends and family who are also interested. So glad I stumbled upon this on LinkedIn!

교육 기관: Jenis A

2020년 10월 26일

I have found this course very fond and challenging at the same time. It has helped me to understand myself and the people around me.

I was challenged to upload my first Youtube video plus I had to redo my assignment and I had to watch more of Sir Ivan videos which were very stimulating.

I believe you can learn so much about communicating and understanding ways to communicate with your colleagues.

You would truly enjoy every moment of learning from this course.

교육 기관: Carley S

2020년 5월 5일

Ivan is an amazing instructor who makes learning easy and engaging! In a few months I will need to engage a group of students online and I cannot wait to utilize some of the things I have learned from this course! It was well worth my time and I think this course is great for almost everyone. It is one that can help you virtually and in-person with co-workers or friends. I highly recommend and wish this course was even longer than the few weeks.