Chevron Left
Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age(으)로 돌아가기

토론토 대학교의 Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,061개의 평가
816개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Communication has changed! The traditional rules for speaking and presenting, meeting coordination, influencing people, negotiating and selling ideas no longer apply in a world of skype, messenger, video and teleconference. This course will act as an overview on several concepts each of which could be a course of their own and our goal is to give you tools that you can practice and perfect on your own. By the end of this course, you will be able to: • Apply communication principles and techniques for in-person and virtual teams • Use a science based approach to create impactful presentations • Refine your communication style to better persuade and influence others • Run more effective and impactful meetings • Incorporate strategies to have positive difficult conversations and make people feel valued and listened to *** This course will require you to record yourself speaking. Therefore you must have a phone/computer with a functional camera and microphone.*** WHO SHOULD TAKE THIS COURSE? Anyone looking for professional and/or leadership development. This class mainly uses examples from the professional, business environment. If you are looking to advance at your current organization or to enhancing your personal value for potential employers this course is for you. WHAT MAKES THIS COURSE EFFECTIVE? Many educational experiences describe and explain, but in this course we will apply and demonstrate. We teach practical and proven concepts, show you how to apply them and give you opportunities to practice them in a safe and supportive environment. This course is full of opportunities to put the ideas presented into practice and test their effectiveness for yourself. WHY SHOULD YOU TAKE THIS COURSE? We will challenge the preconceived ideas about what it means to be part of a virtual team, and support you to be a dynamic team contributor no matter where you work. In this course you can expect to be both energized and uncomfortable – like in most experiences that result in positive growth and change! This course is offered through the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (https://learn.utoronto.ca/)....

최상위 리뷰

GP

Aug 13, 2020

I love this course. It's broken down to simple bits which makes it easy to understand. I didn't like the polls that pop up in the videos but that's just a small thing compared to the value I received.

YR

May 11, 2020

The course was really helpful to strengthen communications skills and I got a chance to learn many new aspects. Thanks a lot for making this course available. I really enjoyed learning something new.

필터링 기준:

Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age의 814개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Lok M T

Apr 20, 2020

This is the best presentation course I took, and it provides a comprehensive set of useful tips how to doing Ace in presentation at a business setting. Love it!

교육 기관: Suseela D

May 12, 2020

An interesting and fun ride to the road of effective communication...…..all cheers !

교육 기관: Hassan S

May 06, 2020

It was a great course and I enjoyed it. Here are a two suggestions for improvement. First, the final assignment should be designed as a webinar or online meeting because most virtual communications are in this format. Most people don't stand and present with 'belly button rule' when they are communicating online. They are on their desk and sharing screens. Second, there should be less video footage of the speaker and more practice assignments for each module instead of simple MCQ quizzes.

교육 기관: Aleksandr A

Jun 08, 2020

It's a great course, but Peer Review here is something awful - the evaluating people might get the course topics and ideas totally wrong and they would rate you based on their vision.

IMO, that system works well with technical tasks, but not soft skill evaluation.

As for the course itself - it coves a lot of aspects with really little time needed, including some public speaking basics and presentations. The course professor Ivan is just the best one ;)

교육 기관: Mustafa M

Jun 02, 2020

too long and the peer is very hard , i don't know why would i have to make such peer in order to get my certificate , however i finished the course , i will not mke the peer . Certificate can remain .. :)

교육 기관: Wade M

Jun 09, 2020

Felt like we were largely just learning strategies to manipulate people into doing what we want.

교육 기관: Julie D

Jun 12, 2020

Much of the course content videos contradicted the Traps of Communication the instructor himself pointed to. Most videos were unnecessarily long and provided little more context than could be summarized in a sentence. Thankfully, the instructor often ended videos with a summary. Thee course content included communication "strategies" GOS, KNOW Rule, Area 47 .... that were ultimately concepts of which most people are already aware, but rebranded for this course. I felt like I was spending more time feeling confused about what the names of the strategy were, rather than how to use them. The instructor tried to use examples in his videos, but would explain them "Say you were doing X, and your boss wanted Y....." This format could have been improved by simply having two different people or slides SHOWING the concept in action (roleplaying/acting), rather than describing. I also really disliked the cliche music in the introductory video to the course which overshadowed the presenter's own voice. All in all, the course was satisfactory for providing food for thought regarding communication styles and motivations, but it was not the highest quality course I've seen on Coursera or elsewhere. I expected more from the UofT School of Continuing Studies.

교육 기관: Per S

Jun 26, 2020

Yeah, Interesting concepts applicable for presentations however my main concerns are with cybersecurity. I do not want my face to be recognized all over the internet, hacked or copied. I am afraid of such issues. I have not been able to finish the course because I knew what the peer-graded review was all about. And the learners and grading each other really good marks sharing their links to each other while others have been waiting for days. The course has to consider these crimes of information hacking and the like, I think the course is quite outdated in terms of that because you cannot choose to make a video where you don't have to present yourself and be effective. I thought the course was about online learning and communication but this was not the case given that the title itself suggests "Virtual Age." Surely they should have changed considered issues such as these from their activities and peer-graded assignments. These are the kind of peer-graded assignments I would not approve of. There aren't even alternatives to finish the course. No thanks, I'll just try to get the content but that's it. I don't mind not earning the certificate as long as I don't put my online information out in the open.

교육 기관: Roshni S I

Aug 27, 2020

If you're interesting in learning to communicate well virtually and in person, this course is a must-do. Ivan, who teaches the course, makes sure that the lessons are never dull. There are live examples. There are visual cues and little quizzes (easy to do) to help recall. The lessons teach us stuff that one can start using right away - they're critical to being a successful communicator. They cover different aspects (meetings, presentations, understanding motivations, communication styles and many more topics) and interesting, highly effective strategies for all of these.

I love how Ivan would constantly address issues both in the real world and the virtual world and teach strategies that work for each of these settings. The assignments are well-designed, especially the final assignment which really challenged me and made me look back at and apply everything I'd learnt over the past few weeks. Thank you, Ivan, for a phenomenal learning experience!

교육 기관: Maria K

Aug 01, 2019

This was an a very useful introductory lesson for learners working in business or educational field about developing core communicational skills in any professional environment.New basic strategies for communication were taught including necessary techniques for attracting audience's attention and curiosity as well as effective methods for organising groupwork and enhancing team members' interaction. The course was delivered in a dynamic and challenging way by an experienced and highly skilfull professor.The communication with professor for solving issues during the course was prompt and helpful while the professor was very suppotive.I would strongly recommend this lesson to anyone desiring to acquire fundamental communication skills in person and virtually in any scientific field!

교육 기관: Dumebi A

Aug 16, 2020

This is one of the best courses I have had on Coursera. I learnt a lot of communication and presentation skills. If you take this course, you would learn how to deliver mind blowing presentations, how to have effective meetings without time wasting, the best ways to have difficult conversations with different categories of colleagues and a whole lot of other communication strategies. Trust me, it works because I have tried it. The additional materials were also very enlightening.

The course requires learners to upload a youtube video of self. You can check out mine on my youtube channel. The video is titled 'Stop procrastinating, just do it now!'

교육 기관: Jayzel F R G

Sep 09, 2020

This online course has been helpful to me because I’m fresh graduate and licensed teacher. I’ve been thankful for this, it widen my knowledge. I hope University of Toronto will grant my hope to be one of them because, i’ve been dreaming of working abroad. Anyway, thank you so much especially Mr. Ivan who discussed, explained the topics, i’ve learned so much sir. I hope we get to meet soon to say Thank you to you personally. This online course, this is my new another success in life Thank you for granting it, I hope I can Go there at Canada, soon. Continue to help, expand knowledge University of Toronto. Thank you so much & God bless.

교육 기관: Christopher P O

Jul 20, 2020

This was my second Coursera course and was signficantly more enjoyable than the first. The initial course I took contained good information but this course lecturer practices what he preaches. These presentations/lectures were engaging and full of valuable insights on how to make better virtual presentations that are memorable and how to present them so your listeners will remember the information (at least your main point!). I highly recommend this course for anyone that wants to gain a better understanding of the psychology behind better presentations and tips to improve your presenting skills.

교육 기관: Tetiana M

Jun 08, 2020

The structure of the course helps very well to understand and practice the tools for efficient communication. The examples are mainly from USA business/ public spheres — for me an additional bonus of immersing into a new environment. A final task enforced me to leave a comfort zone, however, the feelings of self-growth and good-job-made were worth it.

Ivan is a very charismatic speaker — it was exciting to listen to all the lectures. I don’t agree with some of his statements, but I think it’s okay and encourages thinking. Thank you for this course!

교육 기관: Alexandra S

Jul 13, 2020

It's a well-informative course for starters! I can clearly understand from the instructor, and it has taught me so many things about communication that can be applied to the real world. However, I seem to notice a lot of typos here and there which can be improved for a better overview. Additionally, I was kind of confused by the Peer-Review Assignment since many weren't following the instructions which made me have to report them multiple times. Overall, it's a good course but there's always room for improvement.

교육 기관: Warisara M

Jun 01, 2020

This course is highly recommended. The content is very helpful which I can apply in my real life. The instructor taught professionally and could drag my attention with his speaking. Moreover, there is a Test per Week and a final assignment that I need to record my VDO and did slide for my virtual presentation. I'd love it so much because It's fun and I also could try applying all of the strategies with it then we could share and review with many learners from around the world.

교육 기관: Joessy T

May 01, 2020

This was the perfect course to attend during this challenging time. I felt it spot on with my everyday life and communication. The instructor Ivan is a natural and excellent presenter. I thoroughly enjoyed each topic and the suggested tools to tackle them. The resources and links offered are also incredibly helpful for future reference. I would talk about the course with friends and family who are also interested. So glad I stumbled upon this on LinkedIn!

교육 기관: Carley S

May 06, 2020

Ivan is an amazing instructor who makes learning easy and engaging! In a few months I will need to engage a group of students online and I cannot wait to utilize some of the things I have learned from this course! It was well worth my time and I think this course is great for almost everyone. It is one that can help you virtually and in-person with co-workers or friends. I highly recommend and wish this course was even longer than the few weeks.

교육 기관: Eleni A

Sep 01, 2020

Engaging, enlightening and, most importantly, highly applicable.

The pandemic has created the need for excessive virtual communication and this course provides everything you need to survive and excel in virtual as long as face to face communication. The knowledge offered can be applied to every-day, academic and professional situations.

Amazing professor, short-length videos and perfectly suited tests/ assessments.

Cannot recommend it enough!

교육 기관: Celeste S N

May 25, 2020

This course was excellent from beginning to end! Ivan presented the material in an engaging way and the topics covered are things I often overlook but will definitely give more attention going forward. I was apprehensive about recording myself and sharing it with the class but it turned out to be an eye-opening experience. I recommend this course to anyone interested in developing more effective and efficient communication.

교육 기관: Anamaría H R

Apr 27, 2020

I totally recommend this course, the tittle doesn't do justice to its content, it is helpful for lots of things: learning how to communicate both in virtual and real world, how to identify peoples motivation by knowing their communication styles, how to make a good presentation by asking the correct questions and giving the exact message and image you want to people. I learned a whole lot!

교육 기관: Catherine J

May 10, 2020

This class was outstanding! Professional and aspiring speakers would greatly benefit from this class There is so much I will be using to launch my team building business. Presentations was an important component in my marketing plan. This class was my favorite so far with Coursera. I have so many take aways that I could use for my own professional development and with clients.

교육 기관: Pallavi

Jul 30, 2020

This program has helped me in getting those 2 min strategies to communicate effectively at workplace and even with people where you have little hope to get work done. The Instructor was very clear and precise. Effective course materials that helped me to stay focused and get the right amount of information each time. Thanks to the Coursera team and the University of Toronto!

교육 기관: Lisa M

Aug 08, 2020

Ivan is a skilled instructor and kept me engaged throughout the entire course! I've taken quite a few courses already and I have to say that his course is truly exceptional because of his delivery, his humour and his presentation! I was sad to have finished the course as I wanted to learn more from him. Please have him instruct more Coursera courses! Thank you, Ivan!!

교육 기관: shubhanjali r

Jul 23, 2020

Getting acknowledgement through your effective communication skill always benefical to you and your career in one's work sourrounding. and that exactly wat i taught in this course.Learnt various ways to deal with different people without discouraging their own opinion.and the way Ivan explain whole theory concept it made me active and energetic in overall session.