Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition(으)로 돌아가기

애리조나주립대학교의 Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
5,417개의 평가
1,645개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
하이라이트
Applicable teachings
(121개의 검토)
Creatively designed course
(270개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

AA
2021년 6월 21일

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
2018년 6월 10일

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

필터링 기준:

Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition의 1,618개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Nataliya K

2016년 3월 11일

Great course! I highly recommend it to everyone who is interested in ESL teaching and learning. Dr. Shawn Dixon is not an instructor - he is a real actor. He turns on his lectures into shows. It was my 15th course on Coursera, all of them were interesting and useful, but it was the funniest one! I have never seen a complex and boring theory outlining so exciting. Believe me, you will enjoy this course!

교육 기관: Adalto F d G

2016년 6월 1일

The high level of the content and the teachers able to inspire, are maybe the best reason to do this course. I never saw so good teachers as they have here and the ability to teach and give valuable information to the learners as done here. In another situation, this course should cost a lot of money.

Thanks to professors Shane Dixon, Jessica Cinco and Justin. More than teach, you are able to inspire!

교육 기관: Rosa F

2020년 10월 25일

Even if as teachers we already know about the different approaches and the use of its techniques and strategies, the way you use to explain the contents, has helped me a lot. Now I'm learning in the good and right sense. I have more clear how to help my students and its helped me also to auto reflect where and who i am and where and how i want to go from here in my teaching-learning process.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Rachel G

2017년 7월 10일

By studying the history of teaching approaches, I learned both the purposes behind teaching techniques throughout history and why the do or do not work based on a learner's purpose for learning a language. And, as a bonus, as a second language learner, I learned new learner strategies too. The information was clear, and the method of presentation made it both entertaining and memorable. Thanks.

교육 기관: TRAN A K

2021년 8월 19일

Very nice concept with the time machine and using caricatures! Just one observation: I've noticed that the "Why" question in the time machine videos is different from the "Why" in the sheets. While in the video the caricature was asked "Why do we teach language", the question in the sheet seems to be "Why do we use this approach". The two overlap, but sometimes there are differences to consider!

교육 기관: Aaron T

2020년 11월 29일

The lessons are engaging and interesting to say the least. It is interesting to learn all of the approaches that have been used throughout history. I will take what is useful from the approaches, discard what is useless and finally, make an approach that is truly mine! I recommend this course to anyone who is keen on the theories of 2nd language acquisition or on language acquisition in general!

교육 기관: Ester A

2021년 1월 17일

I'd like to say special “Thank you!” to my main dearest American teachers and all members of team of this wonderful, and, very useful for people around the world, course. Thank you for your unreal help for such women like me. Your great program really changes for better a lot of lives. You make me a person, who is full of happy and hope for better fate in the future. Love you all very much!

교육 기관: Ariel S M

2016년 2월 27일

Like the course before this one, Theories of Second Language Acquistion was exceptional. I love how the professors creatively distill very important facts and information in a format that is enjoyable and refreshing for students. I wish all Coursera Courses were carefully planned and presented like this course - how you present it is just as important as the content that you are presenting.

교육 기관: Kirsten M

2020년 4월 2일

An excellent overview of the history of ESL teaching methods. Presented as vignettes using simple caricatures, it is easy to follow and the exaggerated style makes each theory memorable. The graphic organizer that the course provides keeps your notes in place, and will come in handy at Final Exam time. This is not an easy course; you will work and you will learn, but you will also enjoy.

교육 기관: Shane D L

2016년 2월 14일

Shane Dixon is a little over the top, but it's clear that his energy and enthusiasm is backed up by his knowledge (also it makes sense that he would have such a personality considering the need for it in his ESL classrooms). Everything he says is directed towards helping you understand how to apply what you are learning in a class. Easily the most interesting online course I've taken.

교육 기관: Fernando C C

2020년 11월 5일

It was an extraordinary class, filled with interesting and appealing ways of teaching the contrasting strategies of learning. The only aspect that at the end quiz was a little dizzying, was those three questions of strategies and tools used by three of the language learning schools of thought, after all the information, it was a little hard to pinpoint the minute details of them.

교육 기관: Chị H

2020년 2월 27일

I love the lecturers and Coursera so much. I feel motivated when learning this course. It helps me a lot to get a deeper insight into the English teaching approach. I used to lack interest in the history of previous research, theory but lively illustration and fantastic teaching styles of lecturers awake my mind. I am grateful for having this opportunity to upgrade my profession

교육 기관: Anastasia Y

2020년 6월 23일

This course is one of the most interesting and challenging ones I have ever encountered. The lectures are full of important names, dates, and information and I couldn't be more satisfied with this. The only thing I didn't quite enjoy was the Angel and Devil Approach: it wasn't as interesting to watch and, to be honest, a little weird. But the mentors did a great job! Thank you!

교육 기관: Pawel V

2020년 7월 22일

Highly useful in getting insights into the theories of Second Language acquisition. I could imbibe many techniques that can be used in my classroom. Definitely helped me in becoming a better teacher. The trainers are excellent. The material provided is really awesome. I feel all language teachers must take the course. it will be a very enriching experience for them as well.

교육 기관: Claudia Y A M

2020년 8월 16일

I am deeply grateful to Coursera for bringing this platform to the rest of the world. It opens the opportunity to learn and acquire new skills. Special thanks to Shane, Justin, and Jessica for driving the lessons in this course in a very interactive, fun, and creative way. It was an amazing experience, where I learned a lot and help me in acquiring new skills. Many thanks.

교육 기관: Umarov K H

2019년 3월 31일

Very informative and helpful. It worse the time I have dedicated to it. Thank you very much to Coursera and Arizona State University for the provided opportunity and great experience and theoretical knowledge. I really didn't have funds for the course, thanks for your kindness and the will to bring knowledge even free of charge and without any benefit for you.

Thank you!

교육 기관: David S B

2016년 3월 9일

This course was nicely contructed and fun. It contained a lot of helpful information for a person desiring to teach English as a second langauge. It helped me to move closer to my own approach and philosophy to teaching language. I would indeed reccomend this course to others. I may recommend this course to my teaching staff. This is reasonably priced and informative.

교육 기관: Erik M

2020년 4월 13일

In this course I was introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. I also learnt the basic studies in second language acquisition and the pedagogical implications. I understand the importance of using my own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique.

교육 기관: Eman A A

2017년 11월 2일

An excellent course, this course get us to know all about theories teachers use in the past until now and i learned a lot of new teaching methods and how can I use these theories in my classroom ,and I have to thank the instructor Mr. Shane for his professional,easy and lovely teaching way the best instructor I've ever known I've learned a lot from his way of teaching.

교육 기관: Aigul Z

2016년 2월 13일

Cool! Thanks a lot for such a wonderful opportunity to have a clearer view of chronology of ESL approaches.

It gives more confidence and understanding what this or that technique is used for. I know much more than I used to and therefore, I develop my teaching and methodology awareness.

I look forward to the next course and hope I will implement it widely in my practice.

교육 기관: Tuyana S

2020년 6월 5일

I love how wonderfully teachers structured the material. Everything is made for the learner to comprehend and remember by giving interesting ideas and bright memories. Shain is not only a great teacher but also a great actor. Thank you for making the learning process so engaging and easy to understand! definitely recommend this course for the one who is into teaching.

교육 기관: Yoshua A H D

2018년 2월 17일

It is an excellent program that allows current teachers to obtain certification for what they already do and may have learned parts of from experience. Besides that, your given a week to complete courses free, and for those like me who are struggling financially and making pesos, this is really a blessing and opportunity for anyone willing to work hard and dedicated.

교육 기관: NAKITENDE R

2020년 3월 4일

This course gave me an insight into the approach i may apply according to the different situations and the different learners i may encounter.It also gave me background knowledge about language instruction which i have incorporated into my teaching philosophy.Thanks to my instructors who strive to make me understand at every level of my learning.

Nakitende Rovina

교육 기관: Hector S

2021년 5월 22일

This course is great in case you want to build or refresh your understanding of English language teaching methodology. It offers a detailed and easy-to-grasp description of the most influential approaches to language teaching and also makes a connection to real classroom activities. I highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to become a better English teacher.

교육 기관: Marilia L S

2016년 3월 20일

I really, really enjoyed this course. As a beginner in the teaching career, it was really mind opening, I've already applied some of the things learned in my classes. The teachers are amazing, and made me really want to have classes with them personally. I've just started the next course, and probably will do all the ones available. Thank you, very very much!