Chevron Left
Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health(으)로 돌아가기

노스캐롤라이나대학교 채플힐 캠퍼스의 Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
2,672개의 평가
742개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Often called “the cornerstone” of public health, epidemiology is the study of the distribution and determinants of diseases, health conditions, or events among populations and the application of that study to control health problems. By applying the concepts learned in this course to current public health problems and issues, students will understand the practice of epidemiology as it relates to real life and makes for a better appreciation of public health programs and policies. This course explores public health issues like cardiovascular and infectious diseases – both locally and globally – through the lens of epidemiology....

최상위 리뷰

N

Apr 12, 2020

Very clear teaching strategies from the instructors. Some quizzes though are a little bit hard on my part because of the type of questions and answers. But overall it is a great course to take with.

A

May 31, 2020

I just completed my course and I would like to appreciate the tutors for doing a great job, yeah! Also, I recommend Coursera for anyone who wants to experience advancement in knowledge and career.

필터링 기준:

Epidemiology: The Basic Science of Public Health의 735개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Kelly K

Sep 01, 2015

The content was really neat and definitely not something I had been exposed to before. I really liked the quantitative parts of the course and wish there had been more time spent on that and more quiz questions on that.

The reason I am ranking this 2 stars is that I felt the quizzes were unreasonably difficult (or perhaps they had bugs). Week 2 quiz I had to take multiple times and really couldn't figure out what the correct answer was. Looking at the discussion boards I believe my sentiment is shared. I have taken multiple coursera classes (Astronomy, Astrobiology, Calculus) and these are by far the most difficult quizes I have encountered.

교육 기관: Sabrina S S

Oct 22, 2016

I am a little disapointed with this course. I have completed the third week, but quizes are too big, and the questions are almost impossible to compare with the lectures.

It seems like what is evaluated is your ability of getting languages nuances, and not the epidemiology subject.

교육 기관: Manoj M

Oct 13, 2016

The course was fantastic and learned the things which I could not study from many books I had referred. I have spread this message to many of my friends and colleges. Thank you very much.

교육 기관: Rai S

Sep 03, 2015

Good enough for a free course offering very basic understanding of the topic. Lots of video errors, and sometimes the lecturer's speech isn't very smooth. Tests are poorly worded sometimes in ways that contradict the language used in the lectures, making them difficult to pass even with notes. I wouldn't pay for the certificate - if I were an employer I would not recognize this course as teaching any sort of proficiency.

교육 기관: Emily J

Dec 27, 2015

I enjoyed hearing about epidemiology, but didn't find the quizzes very useful. I was expecting more practice doing computation or examining case studies. The lectures also had no time in between slides to pause, write notes, and make sure I understood what was just said. I liked that the lectures were well organized and the review questions in between the topics of discussion.

교육 기관: Alicia J

Dec 28, 2017

Some of the earlier quiz questions seemed impossible to answer based on the lecture videos and materials, but otherwise this was a generally informative and engaging course.

교육 기관: Sooraj S B

Oct 30, 2017

One of the best classes I've taken. It was difficult for me. I had to take the quizzes many times usually to get an A. Worth the effort. I completed the class. I'm proud of the accomplishment.

교육 기관: Pedro L M R

May 22, 2018

The course and content are good and well taught by the teachers. However, the lessons are very short and the test complicated to be carried out, mainly for not accepting the partial note of the questions that have more than one correct alternative.

교육 기관: Ricardo P d E

Oct 06, 2015

There is no real flow between videos and questions, not easy to follow. Good efford, good content, just wrong methodology for online training for 2015.

교육 기관: Katrina G

May 09, 2020

As a medical laboratory professional, this course was invaluable in refreshing and increasing my knowledge of epidemiology in a time where we are in the midst of a global pandemic due to SARS-CoV-2. The course material has helped me to improve my interpretation of the data that the department that I supervise, Microbiology, is generating. This is not an easy course and the material should be reviewed before attempting the quizzes. However, the sweat and pain are worth it as you will finish the course with a much better understanding of epidemiology!

교육 기관: Iván E L A

Jul 01, 2020

El curso fue grandioso en todo sentido. Me ha ayudado bastante a interiorizarme más en la temática de Salud Pública, la cual es muy importante. Ambas profesoras explican increíblemente bien, por lo cual me sentí muy cómodo realizando este curso. Estoy muy agradecido haber tenido la oportunidad de realizar este curso. Muy recomendado para los que quieran aprender sobre Salud Pública.

교육 기관: sireesha t

Nov 19, 2019

very interesting and informative .thank you so much for providing this opportunity. useful those who are willing to enter into public health and learn the basic concepts of epidemiology

교육 기관: Dr. D D

May 15, 2017

A brilliant course that can serve as a great introduction to public health. A must take for all including the ones from other streams, even who are not going to work in public health.

교육 기관: Lauren-Ashley D

Apr 29, 2018

There is room for improvement, like showing quiz answers once submitted and editing all of the transcript errors but the information and additional materials are great resources for people interested in getting started with in the field of epidemiology.

교육 기관: Melissa H

Nov 25, 2018

I enjoyed taking this course, although I felt the quizzes at the end of each week were much harder than the practice questions throughout the videos requiring me to go back frequently. I do feel I have learned a lot I can use moving forward.

교육 기관: Katy S

Apr 15, 2019

Great overview of scientific methods of epidemiological studies. I would have loved more advanced material to be available, and maybe discussion questions to guide the forums.

교육 기관: Wendi L

Feb 07, 2016

Course content was pretty detailed. I did not like that I had to write down pretty much every single word from each slide and that was said in order to make sure I could answer the quiz questions. Either the quiz questions were bad or it was taught in a confusing manner. I would go with the former.

교육 기관: Michael R H

Jun 19, 2020

Paul Brodeur's New Yorker article, The Magic Mineral (Asbestos) (https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/1968/10/12/the-magic-mineral) was my first detailed contact with epidemiology. I was a pre-med student who injured a dominant hand, as an alternate to regular class assignments, I read and reported on, this article. Although, I subsequently became a lawyer, my science background, lead me first to patent law, then to product liability and workers' compensation, with cases involving asbestos, 2,4,5 T and PCB, as well as other chemicals. After 44+ years in law, your course was an excellent review of the issues I spent my career litigating. Your last subject, Causality, was central to every case. I strongly recommend this course to every personal injury lawyer. Thank you.

교육 기관: Prabir K S

Jul 16, 2019

Today I have completed this course. The subject is not new to me. I had attended few workshops on the subject. I always considered the subject as important but relatively dry. This impression originated from my mind set that lots of Maths are associated with statistics and epidemiology.After attending this on line course, I am quite comfortable with my present understanding. I could not make out the syllabus pertaining to 5th and 6th week.With the scope for expansion ,I wish more examples and illustrations are incorporated in this course.However, I have learnt and enjoyed while staying in this course. I express my gratitude to the learned instructors of this course and the creators of the `Coursera`.

We continue to learn.

Regards.

교육 기관: Bárbara I M P

Jun 08, 2020

Soy médico veterinario y desde mis años de estudiante la salud pública ha sido el área de mayor interés, que me ha motivado a adentrarme en el estudio más profundo y especializado y la epidemiología, siendo la base de la salud pública, es el motor de mi curiosidad profesional. Creo que este es el punto de partida para seguir perfeccionando mis conocimientos y poder así llegar a ser un epidemiologo de tomo y lomo y con ello poder optar a tener una carrera como tal y formar parte de los cambios en la salud publica de mi país. Agradecida por este desafiante punto de inicio, espero poder crecer en el campo de la epidemiología y utilizar todo lo que aquí aprendí en un futuro cercano.

교육 기관: Dr. S Z

Aug 14, 2016

Thanks for this excellent course. I am a doctor and in 2012 I have completed my MPH in Epidemiology from BSMMU, Bangladesh but for some reasons I have a gap in last 4 years in my career and recently I have started working with an Epidemiologist in NUI Galway,Ireland and looking for something which would help me to remind all those things I had learnt 4 years back. This course works like a magic. Now I got my memory back. Both teacher are very kind and they tried to make it easier for all which made this course fascinating .

Best wishes for all...

Dr. Sabrina Zarin

교육 기관: Koliswa K

Apr 13, 2020

Hi all

I found this course to be very helpful. The videos were exceptional and notes easy to read and understand. I hope that I am going to pass this time as this course (Introduction to Epidemiology) is one of my core courses that I need to pass for my Master of Public Health studies at UCT in Cape Town.

Thank you very much. Everything is highly appreciated and looking forward to learning more from this platform.

Who knows I might join your university in few years to come.

Thank you and keeping helping us, especially working students.

교육 기관: Maria-Teresa B

Oct 05, 2015

Muchos de los profesionales sanitarios hemos aprendido, bien en las Facultades, bien como parte de nuestra formación continuada, los conceptos básicos de Epidemiología. En este curso no solo se pueden aprender conceptos nuevos, sino afianzar los conocimientos previos y adquirir soltura en el manejo de los diferentes términos y métodos. Los exámenes son duros, lo cual hace que el aprendizaje por aprendizaje de los errores sea aún más efectivo. "Yo creía que sabía Epidemiología", desde luego que después de este curso sé un poquito más.

교육 기관: Maher K

Dec 08, 2018

Thank you very much for a really good and educative course ! I enjoyed every minute of it .It was not so easy and it was not so difficult. The course demanded a real effort to be put in , watching the videos more than once , reading the extra material and going over the quizes multiple times before getting a pass! I enjoyed it and I am really thankfull and gratefull for this learning oppurtunity ! Very much recommended!