Chevron Left
Introduction to Programming with MATLAB(으)로 돌아가기

밴더빌트 대학교의 Introduction to Programming with MATLAB 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
4,453개의 평가
1,106개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

최상위 리뷰

MK

Sep 25, 2016

There is much more to MATLAB than what the course can cover. But It has definitely provided me with the necessary skills and confidence to use it in tackling the practical problems in the real world.

MS

Apr 08, 2019

Very good course, it has some really mind blowing problem sets. I would suggest everyone to hit the problems with a blank mind, i found completely different ways to solve them, and that was amazing.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Programming with MATLAB의 1,079개 리뷰 중 1051~1075

교육 기관: Loralei A A

Jun 15, 2019

Great course for the most part but, in my opinion, this is not an introductory course. It seems to be more like an introductory course if you have taken one but did not exactly pass the first time. The videos are easy enough to follow and he is very good at explaining as he goes but whereas the difficulty level of the videos is at a two, the difficulty level is at an eight. Luckily for me, I was taking this class for work and at work so I was able to get help when needed, but even then it was still a struggle for the majority of my colleagues to help me when it came down to actually doing the homework. So I would either recommend matching the difficulty level of the homework assignments to the videos or changing the course to a second introductory course, just to recap on past experience. Even though it sounds like I did complain, it was still an amazing class leading to 4/5 star review.

교육 기관: prudhvi k

Oct 25, 2019

Very useful and best for the beginner people.

교육 기관: Abhishek S C

Sep 22, 2019

i am in the third week of this course and it is designed for a beginner. They give very minute details about everything.In my opinion the best way to learn is by making mistakes and accepting them and this course is all about learning from your mistakes. they assignment are not difficult but require a little thinking.

교육 기관: SUJASH D

Sep 18, 2019

good assignment and staff gives attention to all.

교육 기관: DEEPAK K P

Sep 04, 2019

whenever i gets any confusion regarding any problem in matlab, u can just revisit it , then it gets clarified

교육 기관: Rosemary H

Oct 01, 2019

It was an excellent course as an introductory class. I feel like we could have had more problems, but overall it was great!

교육 기관: Matt G

Oct 11, 2019

This course was great but at the end I was doing more than my line of work (Psychology statistics) requires.

교육 기관: Vidal H G

Oct 12, 2019

Very complete and interesting course for getting started with MatLab. Though some of the final assignments were quiet hard, the lessons with Mike were really fun and usefull, and so the ability to rewatch them.

I woud gladly recommend this course to the people with little experience who want to start working with MatLab soon.

교육 기관: Peter S

Oct 18, 2019

The course was very good. To the end a liitlr bit havy, but good.

Many thanks

교육 기관: Menna N

Oct 20, 2019

for me i got more than what i expected in that course

> the instructor really has an awesome way in presenting the tools and concepts in the videos

> some of the videos included info that i already knew previously but i was hearing about it here in a different helpful manner

> some of the info shown here were presented in a manner that's more helpful and organized than the documentation of the MATLAB itself for me.

> A part of the course videos was really long it exceeded 30 minutes which was really boring to me and frankly speaking forced me to resist the need to procrastinate completing the video many times.

> Finally, I'm really happy at the end of that course as i found a lot of material and support and motivated way to learn new staff

> thanks to all of you for your efforts to produce such a strong course

교육 기관: Keane J M

Nov 12, 2019

Very good for both beginners in programming starting off with MATLAB and those wishing to learn a new language. Great material and the e-book is a nice add-on

교육 기관: Jiacheng Z

Nov 29, 2018

Too easy!!!!

교육 기관: Royal M

Dec 28, 2018

course was good to begin with however a module on calculus will be of more help.

교육 기관: Amreek S

Mar 08, 2017

Too many videos with repetitive content. Homework was much more complicated than the information given.

교육 기관: Robertus A K P

Mar 20, 2017

Very helpful but sometimes it is too slow

교육 기관: adnan m

May 26, 2018

YOU ARE GIVING DIFFICULT HOME WORKS

교육 기관: Tiago G R

Jun 03, 2017

The course is very good but the assignments are very hard for beginners, sometimes you get almost lost, you don't know how to start.

The assignments level is very high compared to the lessons examples.

교육 기관: Muhammad U

Jun 09, 2019

The last two assignments , image blur and echo generator were out of the scope , it took me alot of days to complete it. At least some videos related to these assignments should have been added

교육 기관: Himanshi C

Oct 20, 2019

I learned a lot from this course.

교육 기관: Kieron H

Dec 04, 2017

The course videos are a highlight, with the instructor both authoritative and giving off a friendly aura.

However, the bulk of the course, the assignments, is atrocious, and was a real nightmare to slog through. The questions regularly require knowledge or techniques not covered elsewhere in the course, including some specialist Maths knowledge (this course assumes you have high level Maths, but this wasn't stated as a prerequisite going in). Most of the time the questions do not give any example function calls, and likewise the grader used for these assignments doesn't indicate what the answer it wants -is-, it just says the function was wrong. This led to a lot of frustration trying to discern what the question/grader wanted from me in the first place, rather than difficulty in figuring out how to actually make Matlab do what I needed.

Not only do a number of the questions assume you have advanced Mathematics knowledge, but a good number of them feel much more like Maths questions than programming questions. In these questions I spent all my time researching and figuring out mathematical formulae rather than learning anything about Matlab itself.

In short, I left this course drained and mostly relieved that it was finally over, with a poor impression of Matlab Online, and a feeling that I will be avoiding any further courses from Vanderbilt University.

교육 기관: Juha K

Sep 21, 2016

Course contained unbelievable amount of silly busywork that has no place being implemented in MATLAB, while forbidding the use of most useful built in functions. At no point during the course was any of the MATLAB's strengths -- like easy solving of linear systems or vectorized operations, even suggested upon.

Furthermore, the course has unhealthy interest in dates and calendars - again of course disabling all the built in tools.

교육 기관: Eric X

Nov 24, 2017

Matlab license not working, how to complete this course.

교육 기관: Saiful A

Aug 30, 2016

Boring Professor

교육 기관: Vincent N

Sep 26, 2016

This course was ultimately frustrating to take. There is a gap in the material presented and the skill set needed to complete the assignments. Using optional methods to complete this course, such as to use the textbook and forums, is too time consuming (deciphering a text book) or insulting (forum mentor responses).

To to solve the assignments, it usually involved trying to 1. refreshing yourself in math concepts not used by a beginner or non-mathematician, 2. deciphering what exactly the poorly written questions were asking, 3. scouring the textbook or internet for functions or strategies never covered in the lecture, 4. having snarky and unhelpful remarks by mentors.

The unprofessional behavior of the mentors was especially hard to handle. Even from the early week's lectures we learned about semantics, and how simple mistyping could lead to programming errors, so I wrongly assumed the mentors would understand that some of us would probably make simple errors. For example, in the final homework I had a simple mistake, but since we cannot show code, it led to more frustration and a mentor basically just saying "we covered this already." I'm well aware of what we covered, but if someone is stuck on a problem, there needs to be a much better way of helping that person. I did not want to write in the forums after my initial foray in the forum led one mentor to just tell me "your logic is wrong", and the spout the same simple strategies of the lecture that could not help on the complex assignment.

There probably will not be anything fixed with this course since it seems like it has been the same for years now. Please fix the questions, stop using Project Euler, and let people directly message code to mentors. Will probably save time rather than try to blindly (and frustratingly) explain code over and over again. Ultimately, I felt that unless someone either has previous experience in coding, or has no work to do other than to do this course, it still is not worth it to just obtain a certificate.

교육 기관: Avanish K

Sep 30, 2017

very easy course. was expecting something more challenging.