Chevron Left
Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
4,280개의 평가
693개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

최상위 리뷰

RM

May 14, 2020

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

SB

Nov 03, 2017

Loved the course! This course teaches you details about matplotlib and enables you to produce beautiful and accurate graphs.. Assignments are challanging, and helps to build a solid foundation.

필터링 기준:

Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python의 685개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Feng H

Aug 16, 2019

Lectures are not detailed enough and speaks too fast, assignments too difficult. If I have to do my own study 90% of the time why do I need to pay tuition?

교육 기관: Mack S

Jul 01, 2019

There are some rubbish assignments in this course which involve searching the web for badly made info graphics.

교육 기관: Sophia C

Oct 14, 2018

Not very well done

교육 기관: Yue Z

Apr 08, 2017

really bad!

교육 기관: Leonid I

Sep 17, 2018

Overall, the course is great and definitely deserves 5-star rating.

However, it starts quite slow and in my opinion first few lectures discuss irrelevant topics, like minimalism of presentation. The problem is that a person can't grasp them without experience...

For example, several videos discuss idea of Edward Tufte. I understand that CS and mathematical statistics are the background of the instructor, but really, Tufte had only repeated well-known basics. Indeed, it was Leonardo da Vinci who first said that "simplicity is the ultimate sophistication". He was followed by Antoine de Saint Exupéry with "It seems that perfection is attained not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing more to remove" and the KISS principle of Kelly Johnson of Lockheed Martin Skunk Works.

Perhaps, for the authors of the course software engineering is closer: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arch_Linux#Principles ...

교육 기관: Aino J

Feb 02, 2020

I found the course very rewarding, and I was surprised how easy it is to make nice looking graphs in python. Extra points to teachers for putting substantial emphasis on good design and aesthetics.

You can pass the course without making any animations or interactive graphics; however, I found those assignments most rewarding so I recommend you give them a try.

Workload-wise, this course took me about double the amount indicated on the course website, but it would have taken considerably less time if I had set the bar lower for myself.

As with Course 1 of this specialisation, the lectures only give an introduction to the topics and you'll have to look up matplotlib documentation and answers from stackoverflow to complete the assignments. I found this course less challenging than the first one (but still challenging enough for sure!).

교육 기관: Ilya R

Jul 25, 2017

Perfect, insightful, deep, challenging! I love the way prof. Christofer Brooks teach Data Science. Interactive IPython notebooks enables creativity to implement lecture notes right in the browser during watching lections.

I enrolled to "Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python" course right after finishing the first "Python for Data Science" module. This is one of the best experiencies I got during my online education.

There are a very active forum discussions on this course, people and course staff are helpful.

Next, I want to enroll next courses of the Specialization.

Also I would like to say "Thank you" to course team and Coursera for the financial aid opportunity.

교육 기관: Vinayak

Jul 05, 2019

This course helped me understand the basics of Data Visualization unlike any other internet resourses.

It starts with one module completely dedicated to the theory behind data visualization and how to present data in a genuinely insightful manner and then delves into matplotlib and eventually seaborn to implement the same.

I enjoyed Dr. Brook's teaching and the exercises. With a solid pedagogy, challenging exercises (the last one is especially fun and gives you a feel for the subject) and insightful lectures it's a great course for people looking to gain knowledge about basics of python data visualization.

교육 기관: Han C

Aug 28, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. As a python novice I had to spend lots of times in googling commands for arguments, options, examples. Well I see many peoples are only relying on course materials but the considering this course as a motivator. I often felt frustrations and pressure, but not tried to be defeated by myself. Hope you guys find your own way to get it done. I still see lots of thing to learn, but I am not worried. This is only the beginning. Course is not a magic pill, it just gives a start point. As a start point, this is really nice cource to take.

교육 기관: Hari G S

Sep 12, 2019

This is an excellent course on visualization in Python. The videos are brief and covers just the right amount of information. Reading resources and assignments are carefully chosen and perfectly complements what we've learned in the lectures. Assignments, most of the time, require us to read the matplotlib documentation but is easily understandable once gone through the lectures. Assignments are not very easy/simple, but completing it with real data and help from documentation, stack overflow and discussion forums is deeply satisfying.

교육 기관: David C

Jul 12, 2017

This was an interesting course. The professor was excellent and the practical exercises, in particular, were beneficial in learning the material. My only complaint would be that a lot more time in the exercises was spent formatting and manipulating Pandas dataframes than applying the matplotlib libraries to produce charts and graphs of the data. I would have preferred to spend more time experimenting and using the graphics libraries and less on trying to manipulate data to get it into formats acceptable for grading.

교육 기관: Sabu J

Oct 17, 2017

U-M and Coursera together brought a great and very interesting course. Great that the learners get exposed to various aspects of DS, be it the concepts , trends etc. A great platform for participants to learn together and experiment. Course introduces what is relevant in the industry and provide multiple opportunities to apply the learning. On top that it is laced with interesting challenges, not a cake-walk -:)

My sincere thanks to U-M, Coursera, teaching staff and all who made this happen

교육 기관: Eric G

Feb 20, 2019

You are going to learn by doing, less then getting a deep lecture of Matplotlib. Yes you will learn it quickly, but the lecture videos are only about 15-30 minutes a week, while the projects will take you a few hours to complete (With the last two taking significantly more time if you want them to). I was a little disappointed that I didn't get I 100% clear picture on how to use Matplotlib and Seaborn, but I do feel like I gained comfort, so it was worth taking!

교육 기관: Kenia S

Apr 04, 2017

I continue to like the way the Prof. Brooks explains the different topics, the selection of the topics themselves and the scientific articles are very enriching. I was previously an HCI researcher and it was a pleasant surprise to find such great art Thanks for sharing them! It was defenetly a challenge for me, learning it all and doing the assignments. At the end, I'm proud, I've learned a lot and l'll definitely share what I've learn so far. Thank you!

교육 기관: shail

Apr 16, 2020

I was skeptic about this course since I am beginner to applied plotting and charting. After watching all videos, i felt overall course is intermediate level and well organized. I went through online search to understand all details mentioned in video, moreover I gained knowledge by looking at the assignment and solving myself with the help of stack overflow. I wanted to learn something new, and it did.

Thank you so much, Christopher Brooks !

교육 기관: Jiongnan L

Dec 02, 2019

In addition to giving practical guidance in plotting and charting, the professors also give a simple but comprehensive explanation of the structure and functioning of the matplotlib.pyplot module, even though it doesn't require you to understand the deeper structure when you use the function, it certainly doesn't hurt you for learning more, especially when you want to be an expert in this.

교육 기관: Val A B

Sep 22, 2018

I found this module to be the most enjoyable of all the Data Science courses offered by UMich. The method of instruction isn't only aimed at plotting data in various charts but it also focuses on the subjective part of visualization. I had fun doing the assignments, especially the 3rd and 4th week assignments, and I could say that I have improved a lot with my visualization skills. 10/10

교육 기관: Jaladh S

Apr 18, 2020

This course is excellent because it teaches not only how to create customized visualizations using matploltlib in Python, but also what principles one should follow to create an excellent visual. The assignments are designed in a way that you get to enforce those principles on the visualization you create - making them memorable throughout your Data Viz career.

교육 기관: Krishna P B

Dec 26, 2019

Taking up this course is a great way to understand how visualization libraries are organized in python. Instead of just stating down functions, the instructor has actually gone through the trouble of explaining the whole underlying architecture of how data is stored and rendered from back-end. Great work! And thank you for organizing a superb course.

교육 기관: Brandon H

Dec 26, 2017

There are so many components to plotting that I didn't take into consideration, and this is after having gone through a Master's program in statistics. I have taken many of the simple things into mind each time I create a visualization at my job. Thus far, I have found the first two courses in this series invaluable and highly recommend it!

교육 기관: Daniel H

Apr 30, 2019

Very clear explanations and wide range of tools to know different ways of data representation. I like a lot it is more a practical than a teorical course. Also, is very interesting to learn some kind of 'rules' for data rep (truthfulness, beauty, insightful, and others. Congratulations and thank you for this really good learning experience

교육 기관: Paweł R

Apr 03, 2017

Very good course, solid introduction to matplotlib and interesting assignments. I was skeptical about the peer review format at first, but then I embraced it - good choice! I liked how the course built on the foundations of the previous one. To pass the assignments I had to use Python, pandas, matplotlib and other tools combined!

교육 기관: Ching-Hwa A C

May 21, 2020

Teaches the fundamentals of how to make a truthful and readable chart/graph, as well as how to consider the audience for the chart. This course introduced me to how to make a lot of different types of charts in Matplotlib that would be so useful in grad school or work, but which would have been daunting to navigate on my own.

교육 기관: Aditi Y

Feb 05, 2019

This was a very informational course, when you can visually see actual trends that has happened in the history or interesting facts from all over the world, with proper data backing up. What I liked the fact was how Tufte's and Cairo's principles are strongly emphasized throughout the course to get the best results possible.

교육 기관: Eunis N

Apr 28, 2020

It took lots of self-motivation and self-learning in addition to viewing the videos and the course Notebook. It could be challenging if you are willing to dig into fancier plotting options. But in the end, I had a super satisfying experience, 5 ⭐s! Looking back at the projects, I was amazed how I accomplished them!