Chevron Left
Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
5,398개의 평가
909개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

최상위 리뷰

OK
2020년 6월 26일

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM
2020년 5월 13일

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

필터링 기준:

Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python의 894개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Andy F

2019년 9월 20일

The lectures really need to flesh things out more, they too often feel too fleeting and leave more than they probably should to searching other resources. Questions for the final piece clearly haven't changed in at least two years and lack clarity as to what should be done

교육 기관: Manuel O A

2020년 5월 18일

I learned a lot about pandas and plotting, but:

I spend a lot of time figuring out the instructions on assignments because were ambiguous or incomplete, I used the discussion forums searching explanations for assignments.

교육 기관: Kareem H

2019년 12월 8일

Plotting concepts need more deep explanation or more practice, generally the provided information wasn't meet the course's level "in my opinion."

교육 기관: Markus K

2020년 4월 20일

I didnt like the peer review

교육 기관: Ivan K

2020년 8월 25일

Course materials are more than 4 years old. That describes not only the videos but also the age of the various Python libraries that you will be working with. The charting and data visualizations discussed are the really the most basic kind that you might find more easily executed in Excel or Google Sheets. My idea of data science visualizations are not bar charts, scatters, line graphs, and box charts.

The age of the course also means that there will be almost no discussion of more contemporary data viz libraries like Seaborn or Plotly or ones I may have never heard of as this course sought to cover the most basic elements of matplotlib. Nothing presented I would say rose to the current professional and academic standards of data visualization.

교육 기관: Mariusz K

2019년 11월 10일

Too little of expounding and too much of searching the net by oneself. Too few examples. It is a self-learning but what's the Course for then?

Plus the assignments. I didn't like the peer evaluation idea, just as evaluating the others, because I don't have time for this and that's not what I came for.

First - what's the motivation of random viewers to fairly and thoroughly evaluate my work? Plus it's hard to finish the course quicker for this reason, because one has to wait a couple of days to get a grade. That's the reason I resigned from waiting for the assignments evaluations for next weeks assignments and in consequence for the certificate.

교육 기관: Qiang L

2020년 3월 27일

The construction of this course is fine, but content is really bad. Instructor could not give detailed introduction in matplotlib. So basically you need to learn everything by yourself. On the other hand, there is huge gap between course and assignment. I would say that you should have at least intermediate level of matplotlib before you take this course, which strongly against the principal of this course. I suggest instructor giving a more general idea first and gradually providing more specific application and harder examples.

교육 기관: Kumar I

2017년 5월 25일

Compared to the first course in this series, I found this one not so challenging. The final project was very loose (I understand that the instructors wanted to give the feel of a real research). The first assignment was very superficial. As much as Cairo's principles are important, I feel devoting an entire assignment to that is justified. The second and third were relatively straight-forward, but that was perhaps the saving grace.

Wish the course spent time in dwelling on complex visualizations.

교육 기관: Liam L

2020년 5월 11일

Too little teaching and too much googling. The questions are poorly defined and you end up using Stacker and the discussion forums to really understand what they are asking. I put the time in and got the answers but would have liked them to explain whats going on a bit more rather and give a bit of guidance. Also very expensive, compared to other Pandas and Matplotlib courses.

교육 기관: Shuang S

2019년 8월 15일

It taught some visualization that is not use very often and sometimes I feel I couldn't catch up the knowledge, so if you are a beginner, skip this class first.

교육 기관: Darien M

2019년 11월 21일

This course is anbalagous to taking a creative writing course, but all lessons are on vocabulary and grammar. Once again the lectures are unhelpful. The discussion forum in this course does not provide much help (unlike the first course in the sequence). I suppose they are applying the graduate school mentality to teaching: you want to learn it, figure it out. I myself am definitely not at that level right now.

The assignments are challenging, and you will learn from them, but you won't learn deeply. It seems all very superficial. Just look things up to get them done. Type in any question you have and a solution will certainly appear on SO. Why not give students the tools necessary to solve challenging problems on their own (like in Python for Everybody and Python 3 Programming)?

Professor Brooks is clearly passionate about programming and is very accomplished/intelligent. Unfortunately the teaching in this course is of low quality.

교육 기관: Hussein A

2020년 10월 17일

Didn't learn anything, have been paying for over 2 months, with very poor instructions and very tough quizzes, designed to make you search and search without understanding the fundamentals. The outcome? You paying, without really have any fundamentals rooted. Decided to cancel this specialization after various attempts to push through, without feeling that I am getting the value for what I am paying for. I am better off buying a $20 book from Amazon on Pandas and Visualizations and researching each exercise and apply my learnings on Kaggle datasets. This is unfair!

교육 기관: Yaron K

2017년 9월 21일

Disappointing. Matplotlib is built from layers of interacting functionality, and this course doesn't create a structure to understand it. Unclear and confusing. Note however that the following courses in the specialization show matplotlib code but don't necessitate writing it, so you can do them (at most auditing this course before) and only return to this course if you want a specialization certificate.

교육 기관: Rohan G

2019년 12월 30일

This course is absolutely terrible, and in no way self-sufficient. The professor basically tells you what can be done using matplotlib, give you a cursory example and leaves you all on your own to understand what actually happened by referring to sources such as google or stack overflow.

교육 기관: Abhimanyu S

2020년 4월 11일

Nice assignments but spent most of my time on Google rather than utilizing my notes made from the video lectures. That kinda destroys the purpose of taking an online course in the first place.

교육 기관: Jorge S R

2020년 6월 6일

No real teaching. Just skimming fast through a table of contents. It's better to read a book on the subject than taking the course.

교육 기관: Harshad H

2019년 6월 19일

Too slow grading and a very inefficient process.

교육 기관: Sophia C

2018년 10월 14일

Not very well done

교육 기관: Yue Z

2017년 4월 8일

really bad!

교육 기관: Leonid I

2018년 9월 17일

Overall, the course is great and definitely deserves 5-star rating.

However, it starts quite slow and in my opinion first few lectures discuss irrelevant topics, like minimalism of presentation. The problem is that a person can't grasp them without experience...

For example, several videos discuss idea of Edward Tufte. I understand that CS and mathematical statistics are the background of the instructor, but really, Tufte had only repeated well-known basics. Indeed, it was Leonardo da Vinci who first said that "simplicity is the ultimate sophistication". He was followed by Antoine de Saint Exupéry with "It seems that perfection is attained not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing more to remove" and the KISS principle of Kelly Johnson of Lockheed Martin Skunk Works.

Perhaps, for the authors of the course software engineering is closer: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arch_Linux#Principles ...

교육 기관: Ben B

2020년 11월 14일

This course offers a nice introduction to plotting with matplotlib (and a bit of seaborn).

Much depends on you. The videos give you general instructions, but you should also search proactive for more detailed information on your own and learn by doing the assignments. To enjoy the course as much as I did, you should be familiar with the material of the first course of the specialization (especially with pandas and data wrangling).

I really liked the peer-reviewed assignments. There are a lot of fellow learners, thus you never have to wait more than a couple of hours (or maybe a day) to receive feedback and a grade. The assignments meet different skill levels and let you decide how much effort you want to put in. You could do them in 20-60 minutes or you can really dive deep into it and learn a lot while solving provided questions and your own questions as well. It’s up to you.

교육 기관: Aino J

2020년 2월 2일

I found the course very rewarding, and I was surprised how easy it is to make nice looking graphs in python. Extra points to teachers for putting substantial emphasis on good design and aesthetics.

You can pass the course without making any animations or interactive graphics; however, I found those assignments most rewarding so I recommend you give them a try.

Workload-wise, this course took me about double the amount indicated on the course website, but it would have taken considerably less time if I had set the bar lower for myself.

As with Course 1 of this specialisation, the lectures only give an introduction to the topics and you'll have to look up matplotlib documentation and answers from stackoverflow to complete the assignments. I found this course less challenging than the first one (but still challenging enough for sure!).

교육 기관: Ilya R

2017년 7월 25일

Perfect, insightful, deep, challenging! I love the way prof. Christofer Brooks teach Data Science. Interactive IPython notebooks enables creativity to implement lecture notes right in the browser during watching lections.

I enrolled to "Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python" course right after finishing the first "Python for Data Science" module. This is one of the best experiencies I got during my online education.

There are a very active forum discussions on this course, people and course staff are helpful.

Next, I want to enroll next courses of the Specialization.

Also I would like to say "Thank you" to course team and Coursera for the financial aid opportunity.

교육 기관: Vinayak N

2019년 7월 4일

This course helped me understand the basics of Data Visualization unlike any other internet resourses.

It starts with one module completely dedicated to the theory behind data visualization and how to present data in a genuinely insightful manner and then delves into matplotlib and eventually seaborn to implement the same.

I enjoyed Dr. Brook's teaching and the exercises. With a solid pedagogy, challenging exercises (the last one is especially fun and gives you a feel for the subject) and insightful lectures it's a great course for people looking to gain knowledge about basics of python data visualization.

교육 기관: Han C

2017년 8월 28일

I really enjoyed this course. As a python novice I had to spend lots of times in googling commands for arguments, options, examples. Well I see many peoples are only relying on course materials but the considering this course as a motivator. I often felt frustrations and pressure, but not tried to be defeated by myself. Hope you guys find your own way to get it done. I still see lots of thing to learn, but I am not worried. This is only the beginning. Course is not a magic pill, it just gives a start point. As a start point, this is really nice cource to take.