Chevron Left
Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python(으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
별점
5,700개의 평가
969개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

최상위 리뷰

OK
2020년 6월 26일

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM
2020년 5월 13일

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

필터링 기준:

Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python의 953개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Vincent V H

2020년 11월 22일

limited theory on the subject

교육 기관: Markus K

2020년 4월 20일

I didnt like the peer review

교육 기관: Phil L

2020년 6월 29일

Programming can be a slog when the right materials are not available or the documentation is sparse. It is for this reason that I choose to take and pay for a course instead of muddling around the documentation alone and pulling my hair out. This course does not remedy that issue. I find the professor likeable and he cares about his subject but I have to say it directly and bluntly: the videos are examples of teaching issues with incomplete treatment of basics before moving onto complexities. There is more than a little word salad to get through in the videos which are more and more frustrating as you re-watch them expecting you might have missed important info needed to complete the assignments. It is frequently the case that you have to dedicate far more time to background research in order to complete exercises than the time commitments quoted here. This course could be so much better with some rethinking on how to emphasise and present key concepts so that we are enabled to start from a solid base instead of wandering half-lost as soon as we begin coding. Maybe a collab with professor Severance could remedy.

교육 기관: Mariusz K

2019년 11월 10일

Too little of expounding and too much of searching the net by oneself. Too few examples. It is a self-learning but what's the Course for then?

Plus the assignments. I didn't like the peer evaluation idea, just as evaluating the others, because I don't have time for this and that's not what I came for.

First - what's the motivation of random viewers to fairly and thoroughly evaluate my work? Plus it's hard to finish the course quicker for this reason, because one has to wait a couple of days to get a grade. That's the reason I resigned from waiting for the assignments evaluations for next weeks assignments and in consequence for the certificate.

교육 기관: Qiang L

2020년 3월 27일

The construction of this course is fine, but content is really bad. Instructor could not give detailed introduction in matplotlib. So basically you need to learn everything by yourself. On the other hand, there is huge gap between course and assignment. I would say that you should have at least intermediate level of matplotlib before you take this course, which strongly against the principal of this course. I suggest instructor giving a more general idea first and gradually providing more specific application and harder examples.

교육 기관: Kumar I

2017년 5월 25일

Compared to the first course in this series, I found this one not so challenging. The final project was very loose (I understand that the instructors wanted to give the feel of a real research). The first assignment was very superficial. As much as Cairo's principles are important, I feel devoting an entire assignment to that is justified. The second and third were relatively straight-forward, but that was perhaps the saving grace.

Wish the course spent time in dwelling on complex visualizations.

교육 기관: Markus Z

2021년 1월 11일

From the previous course I know what was coming.

And it was tuffer than Tufte...

I'm not that confident with the structure of the course. I would prefer more mini tests on checking the knowledge of the singe plotting commands and then heading to the assignment of each week.

I think that the challenge would be less frustrating when beeing more skilled with the tools in your plotting toolbox.

교육 기관: Liam L

2020년 5월 11일

Too little teaching and too much googling. The questions are poorly defined and you end up using Stacker and the discussion forums to really understand what they are asking. I put the time in and got the answers but would have liked them to explain whats going on a bit more rather and give a bit of guidance. Also very expensive, compared to other Pandas and Matplotlib courses.

교육 기관: Shuang S

2019년 8월 15일

It taught some visualization that is not use very often and sometimes I feel I couldn't catch up the knowledge, so if you are a beginner, skip this class first.

교육 기관: 2331_GRISHMA D

2020년 6월 20일

It was too fast. The jump from basic to advance was too quick

교육 기관: Zhongtian Y

2020년 7월 15일

too little explanation of the code

교육 기관: Rachit G

2020년 7월 23일

The content is very limited

교육 기관: Sarah S

2021년 3월 30일

If you are already an expert at python and data science you might enjoy this course. If, on the other hand, you would like to learn plotting in python, this is a very poorly taught course.The lectures are too fast and cover too much material before you get a chance to practice. When you do get assignments, they are ambiguously worded and expect you to research way beyond the course material before being able to do them. Very disappointing.

교육 기관: Yaron K

2017년 9월 21일

Disappointing. Matplotlib is built from layers of interacting functionality, and this course doesn't create a structure to understand it. Unclear and confusing. Note however that the following courses in the specialization show matplotlib code but don't necessitate writing it, so you can do them (at most auditing this course before) and only return to this course if you want a specialization certificate.

교육 기관: Adam S

2020년 8월 17일

The explanations are horrible. You either see the profesor talking which is difficult to grasp when you don't really see the code. Once you see the code it goes too fast with hardly no explanation. I understand the point to encourage students to learn how to get extra information online, but this is just too much. 95% of the knowledge I'm getting is not from the course. Waste of time and money.

교육 기관: Rohan G

2019년 12월 30일

This course is absolutely terrible, and in no way self-sufficient. The professor basically tells you what can be done using matplotlib, give you a cursory example and leaves you all on your own to understand what actually happened by referring to sources such as google or stack overflow.

교육 기관: Anders C

2021년 3월 23일

This course needs a serious overhaul. Assignments are very unclear and only reviewed by other students, which questions the legitimacy of this course certificate. Lectures are shallow and clearly made by very unexperienced lecturers.

교육 기관: Abhimanyu S

2020년 4월 11일

Nice assignments but spent most of my time on Google rather than utilizing my notes made from the video lectures. That kinda destroys the purpose of taking an online course in the first place.

교육 기관: Freya

2020년 8월 6일

Assignments are not clear at all.

Things covered in videos are not enough to complete course assignments.

교육 기관: Konstantinos K

2021년 4월 20일

fake reviews from coursera bots, assigment is scam too :P

교육 기관: Harshad H

2019년 6월 19일

Too slow grading and a very inefficient process.

교육 기관: Sophia C

2018년 10월 14일

Not very well done

교육 기관: Yue Z

2017년 4월 8일

really bad!

교육 기관: Rohan S

2020년 7월 27일

NOT GOOD

교육 기관: Leonid I

2018년 9월 17일

Overall, the course is great and definitely deserves 5-star rating.

However, it starts quite slow and in my opinion first few lectures discuss irrelevant topics, like minimalism of presentation. The problem is that a person can't grasp them without experience...

For example, several videos discuss idea of Edward Tufte. I understand that CS and mathematical statistics are the background of the instructor, but really, Tufte had only repeated well-known basics. Indeed, it was Leonardo da Vinci who first said that "simplicity is the ultimate sophistication". He was followed by Antoine de Saint Exupéry with "It seems that perfection is attained not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing more to remove" and the KISS principle of Kelly Johnson of Lockheed Martin Skunk Works.

Perhaps, for the authors of the course software engineering is closer: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Arch_Linux#Principles ...