Chevron Left
Data Science Math Skills(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Data Science Math Skills 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
1,787개의 평가
411개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

최상위 리뷰

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

필터링 기준:

Data Science Math Skills의 422개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Robyn J

Feb 08, 2017

This course is very strong with respect to presenting the concepts you need to know for data science. It is extremely WEAK in terms explaining those concepts. If you are like me and did this kind of math back in the 70's and 80's but have not used it since, be prepared to seek sources outside Coursera in order to understand the material and pass the quizzes. The instructors leave out explanations and skip important points leaving you confused about the concept.

Example: In the Permutations and Combinations sections, "results" of calculations are thrown at you with no explanation of how the instructor got the answer. 10 minutes later, totally as an aside, you get the explanation. The course is not taught in such a way that A leads to B, B leads to C, and C leads.....; instead the instructor will tell you about C, might explain A, and forget about mentioning B until the graded quiz. That is why you will need to fill in the gaps using websites like betterexplained.com or kahnacademy.com.

The student is better served by looking at the syllabus and then going to either of those sites - where the explanations are worth your time.

In addition to failing to present steps in a logical order, the course often teaches at an extremely basic level but tests at a much, much higher level. Again, to get to the higher level of understanding needed to pass ANY of the required, graded quizzes, the student will need to heavily utilize outside sources. The explanations on the practice quizzes also fail in many cases to thoroughly explain why an answer is correct.

Then there are the issues with Coursera itself, the course navigation using Chrome is quite bad. If I did not constantly monitor what part of a course I should be in versus what part of the course automatically loaded next, I often found myself taking a quiz for which no lectures had been presented. The TA's response to my complaint was flippant and WRONG. She then closed my question and I could not respond or ask for more details.

If I had it to do over again I would invest my time and money somewhere else. In my opinion, Coursera should rescind the instructors' rights to charge for this course until the instructors improve and meet higher teaching standards.

교육 기관: Roberto S

Jul 24, 2017

For newbies, the set theory, real numbers, basic statistics and so on are quite well explained. The intro to probability, however, is shallow and quite confusing. It lacks some real-life examples to offer a better grasp of the theory. Coins and dices examples are a good start, but made up examples without a real base are not clarifying at all.

교육 기관: Marcel S

Apr 30, 2017

Week one starts with interesting material that relates probability to data science. Unfortunately as the course progress the course material and videos become less and less helpful. Ultimately the student has to visit other web sites and youtube to actual learn the expected material. The course notes are next to useless and the video are equally unhelpful. I am sure the teachers know their stuff but they have no idea on teaching it clearly based on the material presented in this course. Avoid this course, and head over to KhanAcedemy and complete their probability and statistics program and you will actually learn all the material in this course with a ton of examples and top class videos.

교육 기관: Danuel R

Apr 01, 2017

Difficult content not explained well by the presenters.

교육 기관: Phoebe P

Jul 21, 2019

A useful getting-up-to-speed maths course for those going in to data science

교육 기관: Karim M E

Jul 20, 2019

the course was great but the last week was so hard and the instructor didn't explain the subject well

교육 기관: aiyane m

Jul 17, 2019

g

r

e

a

t

교육 기관: Katesopon K

Jul 15, 2019

sometime the lecture is too easy to understand and after some week it goes too hard to understand even it not a hard thing but sometime the lecturer make it so hard so it can make confuse.

교육 기관: Herbaut J P M

Jul 14, 2019

Great expérience for me.

Thanks You

Herbaut Julien

교육 기관: Susmito R

Jul 13, 2019

The first two weeks of the course were great! The instructor was very clear in his explanations and made the material very intuitive. The video companion pdf's were also very well written. But from the third week onward, when the other instructor took over, not only did the explanations suffer significantly, the video companion material also ceased to be of much help. He did not explain any of the intuition behind any of the formulas and he didn't even try to explain the intuition behind when and where the formulas would apply. I didn't take this course just to be given a bunch of formulas. I really wanted to understand the material because I knew these are foundational concepts that needed to be mastered. Khan Academy explains a lot of the material of weeks 3 and 4 much better. I really wish someone had explained how the version of the binomial theorem that was presented in this course is related to the traditional version that we learned in school while doing binomial expansions in algebra.

교육 기관: Amir G

Jul 12, 2019

Nice but It was obvious and easy stuff.

교육 기관: Srikanth R

Jul 10, 2019

It was goos

교육 기관: Anil K N

Jul 05, 2019

GREAT MATH COURSE FOR A BEGINNER IN DATA ANALYSIS!

교육 기관: Miguel P M

Jul 03, 2019

Extremely Basic. Not useful for DataScience in my oppinion.

교육 기관: Sarah C

Jun 24, 2019

first 3 weeks very good. the 4th week, on probablity, is very confusing

교육 기관: Bharat S

Jun 23, 2019

Very informative and engaging course. Examples are very thought provoking. Thanks a bunch.

교육 기관: Jeff B

Jun 22, 2019

Felt like the first 3 weeks were pretty good but the probability section needs a lot more detailed explanations and examples to make the information clear. For those that are already OK with this subject, it's probably fine but for those that haven't had much background in probability, this part was lacking.

교육 기관: Andrew

Jun 22, 2019

It's very basic and very suitable to new comers in data science

교육 기관: Abhay G

Jun 17, 2019

This course is very useful specially for me that clear all fundamental very sharp.

교육 기관: Archana T R

Jun 10, 2019

Pretty good revision of basic maths concepts.

교육 기관: Shabab K

Jun 01, 2019

Good course. Last quiz was extremely hard though!

교육 기관: Deep R S

May 29, 2019

Course contained simple maths, algebra, summation, mean and variance

교육 기관: Edward I

May 29, 2019

Great crash course. The latter units really ramp up in difficulty and the quiz/tests really made sure I was paying attention. There were a number of inconsistencies early on in the course. Although there were notices posted about them, it was still jarring to see/hear an example that was clearly wrong.

교육 기관: Priti B

May 28, 2019

I came for this course after working on data science for sometime. While initial 2 weeks were easy and known, last 2 weeks were really helpful. My probability concepts become much clearer after going through the lecture and tests. Very precise and clear course. Thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Akhil K

May 27, 2019

Good