Chevron Left
An Intuitive Introduction to Probability(으)로 돌아가기

취리히 대학교의 An Intuitive Introduction to Probability 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
818개의 평가
322개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

최상위 리뷰

NS

Sep 17, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

FR

May 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The explanations are clear and, as suggested by the title, the lecturer uses intuition and daily-life examples rather than abstract and formal definitions and notations.

필터링 기준:

An Intuitive Introduction to Probability의 320개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: rims

May 17, 2019

Excellent way of teaching. Clear Explanation of the topics with to the point discussion. Diverse applications of probability covered in one course. Definitely helpful in my office / research work.

교육 기관: Arundhati A A

May 25, 2018

The course explains probability and normal distribution concepts in a way it is easier to follow. And makes it further easier using usual excel function. Very well taught course! A big thank you!!

교육 기관: Yoás S R G

Feb 13, 2017

I want to thank and congratulate Prof. Karl, José and all the people involved in the development of the course for this incredible series. The lectures of Karl were outstanding, very clear, direct to the point, with concrete examples to erase any doubts. The exercises with José helped me reinforce the concepts learned with Karl, not to mention the real world applications (the most enjoyable part for me), which also were very interesting and were the main reason the course got me hooked.

To be honest, I had already taken a probability course many years ago but this was definitely better. Now I realize I hadn´t fully understood key concepts until now and I´m sure that in the future I won´t forget them easily.

If anything I would suggest adding another application to the Bayes´ Theorem: Bayesian Networks for Artificial Intelligence.

Thanks again and I really really look forward to take another course on a related subject with you guys.

교육 기관: Benjamin L

Apr 26, 2017

Easy to understand, funny, straightforward, and taught in such a way that it is immediately clear as you are learning how these skills can be used in the real world. I highly recommend this course to anyone seeking to learn about the fundamentals of probability, even those who don't use the subject in their career or lives.

My only bit of criticism would be that the course relies on intermittent checks for understanding as the sole criterion for passing the course rather than longer, broader problem sets. I would love to see more in the way of rigorous exams and projects. But I suppose that's what more advanced courses are for! If this course is intended to be a gentle introduction to the broad subject with the understanding that students will follow up with more advanced coursework as necessary, they have certainly succeeded admirably at that goal.

교육 기관: Naveen G

Apr 07, 2020

I always used to run away from the probabilistic world, until I enrolled in this course. Prof. Schmedders delivered on his promises by not just giving a great foundation on probability, but also by making it fun (with a good sense of humor) and exciting (with real world applications as examples). And yes, I no more hate probability. I'd like to convey my heartfelt gratitude to Prof. Schmedders for this wonderful course. The exercise sessions were also fun. The supplementary reading material was also very interesting, and it serves as a lifetime notes. May be, a final quiz covering all the modules would be worth having in order to test ourselves.

I request Prof. Schmedders to create more courses on advanced probability as I believe he would be able to make a difference in teaching probability.

교육 기관: Victoria L

May 31, 2018

Excellent course to introduce or review concepts of statistics and probability. I found the calculations of probabilities much easier to do than before starting the course and following the Excel functions. I also loved the energy and charisma of both Professor Karl and assistant Jose as well as the types of exercises (e.g. Biles Olympic performances or the probabilities to survive being hit by an asteroid). Please, please, please, do another on-line course like this one for next level statistics. I would love to learn more about Bayesian applications, for example, and through your teachings. In short, I highly recommend this course for a refresher of statistics and for learning statistics in a fun an applicable way. Cheers!

교육 기관: Sushant M S

Feb 06, 2019

A very very good course for the people who fear probability section. The professor explains well from the basic as if you know nothing about the probability and that's the speciality of this course. Go for it if you are willing to gain some basic and also influential knowledge about probability. By the time I was taking this course I was a reading a book named 'The Black Swan' by Nassim Nicholas Taleb . And I tell you there were many similarities between the sayings of this professor and the author of the book. Well that might be the another reason I enjoyed this course well. After all, a very good course for the beginners who are going to take a little step further in the corporate world. Thank you.

교육 기관: Dario B

Aug 25, 2017

I took a probability course almost 20 years ago, and it kinda vanished due lack of usage on my daily job. But as preparation for Data Science career path, I decided to take a refresh about it and found this course. I totally enjoyed it! Even when I may have preferred a little bit of additional theory and samples in Python (I come from CS ;-), I understand that the current format of the course reaches a much wider audience. This is one of those rare cases when abstract theory is smashed to the ground of applications, in a quite amusing way. Über-kudos for the Profr. and TA; they did an astonishing job and I hope they publish more courses in the future.

교육 기관: Richard C

Jul 13, 2017

It has been many years since I have seen any of this material and I struggled working through some old textbooks to familiarize myself with the material once again. This class really helped me refresh my memory and I actually believe I have a clearer understanding of the material than I did when I was in college. The professor did an excellent job engaging the viewer and made the material enjoyable and provided relevant examples that made it easier for the student to understand the bigger picture. I hope to see a second course on the same topic offered by this professor in the future!

교육 기관: Pankaj S G

Dec 03, 2017

I could not answer few questions in high school final exams due my fear for probability. Professor Karl has really removed my fear and I want to invest more time now in learning more aspects about this. More importantly I could understand all the examples he has explained. Now I know the concepts Conditional probability, random variable and normal distribution. For me, no more, random variable is not just calling a 'rand()' function, normal distribution is no more a bell curve which just looks good and I have more regards for Excel as a tool to compute probabilities. Thanks.

교육 기관: Rahul K

Oct 24, 2018

A really no-nonsense course that helped me reacquaint myself with the basics of probability. I found the Professor to be extremely knowledgeable, convivial and enthusiastic. Truly, the professor knew his probability. He was able to explain concepts with a childish ease and amazing flow. The course is also very well structured, transitioning from discrete random variables to continuous random variables seamlessly. Personally, I would love to attend more MOOCs conducted by this Professor. A very good course for beginners as well - not a lot of prior knowledge is required.

교육 기관: Yris C

Mar 08, 2018

Awesome!

I'm not english-native, but still could totally understand it. Only touches the necessary detail. It is truly simplified and it did help me develop my intuitive probability skills with the "exact" amount of scientific "background" needed for me to apply it to my field. Now I feel I am capable of evaluating and prove my inferences, so I'm closer to a scientific probability than to a "paranormal" one. XD

I'm so proud of all this work you've done, grateful for your help and admired by how you managed to accomplish the maestry to teach it like this. Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Feb 16, 2017

Professor Schmedders succeeds in giving a very intuitive exposition of the basics of probability, eschewing most formulas while still covering many of the key concepts needed for studying probability and statistics. He has great enthusiasm for the material and injects just the right amount of humor into the course, so the lectures are never boring.

The course would serve as a good "taster" of what probability is all about for those unfamiliar with the subject, or as a warmup or refresher in preparation for more technical courses.

교육 기관: Lokesh K

Feb 03, 2019

The most essential course on the fundamentals of probability theory with an amazing professor whose enthusiasm for teaching the concepts is irresistible and captivating. I literally loved this course so much so that my high-school dream of some-day fully grasping the real intuitive concepts of probability come true. Thank you very much Sir for teaching me this course. I have become a fan of you. Request you to offer some courses on the financial side aspects of the uncertainty and how best it should be managed.

교육 기관: Donna K

Mar 19, 2020

Wonderful course! I've never been as fascinated with the subject of Probability as I am now. This has been a great starting point. I was quite sad to find out that Karl Schmedders has no other MOOC on Coursera. I would have taken them all. I'm now off to start other (slightly more advanced) Probability courses. Thank you, Karl and Jose! You are fantastic teachers. Learning from you was so much fun. There was never a dull moment. I cannot recommend this course highly enough.

교육 기관: Gaurav K S

Apr 17, 2017

Excellent approach to explaining the theory. The emphasis on getting the fundamentals right was a welcome change from other similar courses which get into problem solving mode too soon without clarifying the basics. That being said the usage of multiple real world problems like Monty Hall, Prosecutor's Dilemma and the brilliant explanation for solutions helped me derive great clarity on key concepts. The best Coursera course I have encountered in a while.

교육 기관: MANIKANDAN R

Oct 30, 2018

I am Mathematics Professor in an Engineering College in India. Karl and Jose are excellent. Karl show me a new way of teaching, and it is fun to learn. Since its a basic course I know the concepts, but still it is interest to learn. This course give me some refreshment in probability concepts. The title of the course and the content is superbly matching. Hats off to Karl, Jose. Salutes to Coursera for give me an opportunity like this.

교육 기관: Terry M

Feb 06, 2020

The professor was spectacular. I am a 69 year old retired lawyer/law professor who always loved math and the logic associated with math. The professor was skilled at teaching the building blocks slowly, clearly and with humor. I note that the printed 'titles' for the last one or two lectures contained several errors (it seems the transcriber may have been on 'automatic' and not thought about the content.)

Bravo. Great fun.

교육 기관: MADHAV S

May 24, 2020

Honestly I was having a hard time this semester Because of some advanced statistic courses that I had and my basics weren't clear. But this course really helped me nail it. This was really intuitive fun and the examples were really Good. A huge thanks to the Instructor. I had so much fun in doing this course. I was afraid of math but this really got me excited I'm looking forward to more statistics .

교육 기관: Заров Е А

Jan 31, 2019

That was the great course! I really enjoyed by it.

Thanks a lot for the teacher. All examples were clear, all concepts were understandable.

I was completely intended to continue each next lesson.

And the words in the title "Intuitive" and "Introduction" are absolutely proofed! It was quite introductory

- not so easy but not so hard. And I have got a good intuition inside a topic!

Thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Barok

Apr 27, 2020

Excellent course. The instructor explained the conceptual ideas and combined them with cool applications.

Including Excell in the examples was a beneficial thing and a nice touch. Also, the quizzes were reasonable and essential to integrating the course.

I toked the course while taking a class about Probability in the University, and overall it is worthwhile to spend the time.

교육 기관: Umeshraddi K

Apr 16, 2018

Before this course, I hated probability exactly like Karl mentioned in the beginning of the course. But now it's really fun and interesting to look things from probability perspective. Thanks Karl for the course. Thanks Jose for interesting problems and way to solve them.

I look forward to further courses from Karl, please inform me whenever you are conducting a new course.

교육 기관: Floyd D

Jul 31, 2017

I've been trying for years to get to a point where probability doesn't scare me more than clowns. This class has done it for me. He's done an excellent job demystifying the subject and extracting the points one actually needs to understand from all the nice-to know's. Highly recommend the class to anyone in fields like statistics, Bayesian Networks, or data science.

교육 기관: Marton G

Apr 08, 2020

Very well tought course, with clear explanations. I especially liked that the focus of the lectures is entirely on building intuition and understanding. The quizzes and exercises do not contribute much to the learning, but the lectures alone are well worth taking the course. Too bad there is currently no follow-up course available with more advanced topics.

교육 기관: Mohummud D

Jan 25, 2017

I have been looking for a stats course to unlock further learning. This was it! I found the pace, content style worked for me to allow me to proceed on other courses. Yes, I 'hated' stats when younger and feared it. But I am more comfortable and eager to learn more now and put into practice the extensions I am now able to move on to. Thank you.