Chevron Left
Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus(으)로 돌아가기

임페리얼 칼리지 런던의 Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
5,139개의 평가
919개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

최상위 리뷰

SS

2019년 8월 3일

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

DP

2018년 11월 25일

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

필터링 기준:

Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus의 924개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: David S

2021년 2월 21일

A solid course, recommended for those who want a deeper understanding of the math behind machine learning. It is well taught and organized, with many quizzes so students work through problems themselves,

However,

a) don't think for a moment that a six minute video can be absorbed in six minutes, or a quiz can be completed in the suggested time. From my experience, count on taking twice as long

b) there are so many concepts introduced that I needed to refer a number of times to outside resources like Khan Academy or 3 Blue 1 Brown

Overall, a worthwhile course.

D

교육 기관: Nabil C

2022년 6월 25일

D​avid and Sam are amazing: The found the right balance between bulding up intuition and mathematical rigor. Also their use of coding labs is spot on: Not too much coding language related complexity that would distract from the real objectives of the course, while not making out of the labs a trivial exercise of code copy/paste.

W​hile I did Multivariate Calculus in depth back in University, that was 30 years ago, and I needed a good refresher before taking on some advanced ML/AI courses. This Maths for ML specialization did hit the spot.

교육 기관: Khubaib A

2020년 7월 29일

You will need the basics of Calculus in place. You can't just wake up and start Calculus with this course. With that said, the basics covered serve to be a good revision of the calculus. Certain applications such as the Neural Networks have been done hastily as others say on the forums (and I wholeheartedly agree) but then again this is not a course on Machine Learning. still some more examples from the instructors wouldn't hurt :) The exercises are great. Neither too hard nor too tough.

교육 기관: Jaiber J

2020년 4월 17일

Simply excellent course. The breadth of topics one needs to cover is astounding. I liked the way the topics and ordered, and following a common structure. The best part is the assignments - one really needs to understand every word of what the instructor says to solve it. They are tough in general to anyone who's done their bachelors/masters long time ago. For those who are not used to programming, the assignments can be difficult.

교육 기관: Alina I H

2020년 12월 9일

Amazing instructors and well designed course. Definitely a recommendable course to get intuitive knowledge on mathematical concepts that are relevant for machine learning. What I especially loved about it: it neither went too much into annoying and exhausting detail, nor was it simple. If you take this course, take some time to concentrate and get the brain cells running - will be a satisfying and rewarding experience! 11/10!

교육 기관: 채영

2022년 6월 23일

It took me at least 3 hours every day to understand and absorb the contents. It's that I'm not a native English speaker and I'm almost in the dark about mathmetics which is covered at university. Nevertheless, every step in the course was worth investing. I could know why I, as a would-be developer, should understand and keep mathmetics in my head. I downloaded all videos of this course and I'm gonna repeat them.

교육 기관: Thuy T N

2020년 8월 7일

This is my first encounter with Multivariate Calculus and surely the course has been extremely helpful beginner-friendly. I recommend investing in practical mathematics courses as this specialization if you are new to machine learning field. You will be equipped with enough math background and should feel confident to enter more technical machine learning/deep learning courses.

A truly fundamental stepping stone!

교육 기관: Kerem E Y

2020년 12월 31일

I learned limit, derivatives and integrals in high school. Afterwards, I took a few calculus lessons at university. However; I have never got a chance to see this theoretical background to put into practice. For this reason, I have never learned the essence of which means is calculus. I wouldn't have gotten a detailed education on this topic anywhere in Turkey. It was crucial for me, thank you for all !

교육 기관: Reeshad M

2021년 7월 6일

The videos are well designed and are direct in teaching the course material. For those with Calculus experience, it acts as a nice refresher and further expands it through higher dimensions. For those planning to learn more about Machine Learning and data science, the course also bridges mathematical gaps. Overall, I learned a lot and had fun while taking the course.

교육 기관: Onkar A

2020년 5월 20일

Awesome course, so much to learn, and all concepts built up from basic, had fun with all assignments and stand-pit like interactive things, really boosted the understanding, i felt that prof. copper's speed of teaching was fast for me persoanlly , i had to pause many times and think what he said, but prof. david's pace was perfect for me, both instructors are great!

교육 기관: David A E G

2020년 8월 21일

A beautifully designed course, in which I could strongly settle the principles behind Linear Regression and Neural Networks. It did a wonderful job, filling the gaps I had from some other material I had checked on the web, but that was too technical, from a beginner's point of view. I feel so motivated by this course, that I will finish the specialization!

교육 기관: Douglas W

2020년 5월 4일

Such an impressive set of instructors! I loved the enthusiasm at which the material was taught and injections of British humor. Now, this is not an easy course, but one that requires work. Plan on reacquainting yourselves with pencil, paper and practice. So, do the work, repeat videos when required, rely on classmates in the forums and you'll do fine.

교육 기관: Ludovic G

2020년 12월 7일

Simply brilliant ! Although the exercises might tend to be fairly simplistic, the quality if this course is top-notch. I truly believe it is one of the best material out there to get a grasp on fundamental concepts underpinning machine learning and data science.

I would definitely recommend the entire specialisation to anyone interest in this field.

교육 기관: Manas G

2020년 7월 15일

This is legitimate the best course on coursera. The video production and animations are beyond words. Also the amount of efforts put into quizzes and assignments is clearly visible. They are soo much helpful in understanding and practicing of the concepts taught. I loved doing this course. I wish there were more courses like in this specialization.

교육 기관: Carlo G

2022년 4월 12일

G​reat course about multivariate calculus and its application in machine learning. This completes very well the math side of things with other courses about machine learning, like from Andrew Ng. The instructors are great, the explanations clear and I like very much the code exercises! Can't wait to start the 3rd course of this specialisation.

교육 기관: Aileen F

2020년 11월 27일

Highly recommend it for engineering students or even graduates, since some schools in my country do not teach some of these topics and programming in their engineering programs. The discussion accompanied by graphical and interactive tools really helped me understand some of concepts. The quizzes and assessment focus on the important points.

교육 기관: Camilo M

2020년 7월 29일

The explanations are very clear and intuitive, the teachers explain very well and give guidelines so that you can do your own analysis and experimentation. The programming exercises are not complex but you must pay attention and take notes. So far both courses (linear algebra and multivariate calculation) are very, very good.

교육 기관: Natasha M

2021년 4월 10일

Probably my favorite course series on Coursera! Even though I already took calculus and algebra years ago, I feel like I have gained a greater intuition through this and the previous algebra course. These are probably not introductory courses, but more to gain a deeper intuition of using calculus for machine learning.

교육 기관: Adithya P

2020년 9월 26일

The instructors are amazing, they make things quite easy to understand and the assignments would give a proper measure of your understanding of the lectures. The content covered in the course gives you a perfect idea of visualizing 3d or multidimensional models(data). The forum has a healthy discussion on the subject.

교육 기관: Idris R

2019년 10월 28일

Fun and challenging course! It's priceless to learn all the math behind neural networks and other machine learning algorithms without having to learn all of calculus and all of linear algebra. Those are large fields and having the material presented in a way that focuses on the most relevant pieces is hugely valuable.

교육 기관: Agamjyot C

2020년 6월 16일

This is a must take course, if you want an insight into how the world of machine learning really works. This MOOC focused more on the intuition rather than just deriving out expressions for the heck of it. Everything has been explained in a very nice and simple manner, I have learned a great deal from this course.

교육 기관: Peter K

2021년 12월 18일

I appreciate the work of the course team. Many thanks. It is a great job. But I would list explicitly all the additional materials that could help to understand each week objectives. I mean such links to Khan Academy or other sources that could be relevant. Some videos could be expanded started from chapter 4.

교육 기관: Kuntal T

2020년 12월 13일

If you want to see the "Art of teaching", you must take or go through this course. Prof. Dye and Prof. Cooper explained the subject in a very nice way and I think every undergrad should take this course to clarify their understanding and for any person who whats to teach much watch it to learn how to teach.

교육 기관: Umesh S

2020년 12월 11일

Excellent course !! .. nice balance of mathematics and intuition building. Pace is fast but its fun. Some assignments are challenging but very rewarding once you get it right. Will recommend to all data science enthusiasts to go through this course to build right base before digging deep in ML algorithms

교육 기관: Taranpreet s

2020년 9월 17일

I was quite satisfied with the learnings from the course 1 of the specialization, this course amazed me about how the calculus and linear algebra are knitted together to solve optimization problems efficiently. Quizes are very helpful in reinforcement of the concepts. Instructors are great as well.